Item added to your cart.

Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy
Blind Date Party
Drag City Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 10, 2021


Press Release

The Blind Date Party hosted by Bill Callahan and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and featuring AZITA, Matt Sweeney, Alasdair Roberts, Matt Kinsey, Sean O’Hagan, Bill MacKay, George Xylouris, Dead Rider, David Pajo, Mick Turner, Meg Baird, Ty Segall, Emmett Kelly, Cory Hanson, Six Organs of Admittance, David Grubbs, Cassie Berman, Cooper Crain and Sir Richard Bishop happened online in the fall and winter of ’20–’21 — but the party planning dated back to the spring of 2020. Stuck at home, with no gigs in the foreseeable future, Bill, Bonnie and Drag City needed an outreach program to keep themselves busy, not to mention sane. In the absence of any company or anything on the calendar, playing songs they loved was an idea; playing with people they loved, the desire. And making it fun — so pairing someone with someone else having no say in the matter, the essence of the blind date, was the plan. Favorite songs were chose; players from around the Drag City galaxy were messaged. Pretty soon, songs were flying back and forth — music in the air!

And thus, they were entertained throughout the summer of 2020, when so much else in the world seemed so completely wrong. By the fall, the songs started to appear online: Bill and Bonnie singing a song by someone they loved and admired; each song cut by another another artist they loved and admired, then sent to Bill and Bonny to provide the finishing touches. The spotlight pointed in every direction each week: toward the singers and writers who’d originally played the songs (Yusuf Islam, Hank Williams Jr., Dave Rich, The Other

Years, Billie Eilish, Steely Dan, Lou Reed, Bill Callahan, Jerry Jeff Walker, Robert Wyatt, Lowell George, Johnnie Frierson, Air Supply, Will Oldham, Leonard Cohen, David Berman, Iggy Pop and John Prine), toward their featured collaborators, the artists whose artwork adorned each digital single and videos made by still more collaborators. And you, the listener.

Like the best parties, it turned out to be everything and more than they’d even hoped for. So many more people were involved in the process that we can get on the page here. Suffice to say, making records over the years has required a broad sense of community and an always-surprising mix of independence and unity, inspiration and utility. Some of our best memories are those where as many of our folks as as possible were together in one place at one time. In those moments, it was just a great thing just to be there. And with others looking in . . . this was a joy one could only be infinitely lucky to feel and to take for granted, as well.

The Blind Date Party was one of these, maybe the most improbable one yet. It’s for everyone who’s here and it’s in the name of everyone who’s gone but will never go and will always live with us here. This album will too.

And thus, we are entertained.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Blackness of the Night Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring AZITA 3:45 Buy

    Blackness of the Night

  2. 2 OD'd in Denver Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring Matt Sweeney 3:30 Buy

    OD'd in Denver

  3. 3 I've Made Up My Mind Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring Alasdair Roberts 4:27 Buy

    I've Made Up My Mind

  4. 4 Red Tailed Hawk Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring Matt Kinsey 2:40 Buy

    Red Tailed Hawk

  5. 5 Wish You Were Gay Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring Sean O'Hagan 3:54 Buy

    Wish You Were Gay

  6. 6 Our Anniversary Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring Dead Rider 5:19 Buy

    Our Anniversary

  7. 7 Rooftop Garden Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring George Xylouris 6:20 Buy

    Rooftop Garden

  8. 8 Deacon Blues Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring Bill MacKay 7:17 Buy
  9. 9 I Love You Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring David Pajo 6:41 Buy
  10. 10 Sea Song Bill Callahan and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy featuring Mick Turner 7:21 Buy
Show All Tracks 19

Track List

  1. The Blackness of the Night (feat. Azita)
  2. OD'd in Denver (feat. Matt Sweeney)
  3. I've Made Up My Mind (feat. Alasdair Roberts)
  4. Red-Tailed Hawk (feat. Matt Kinsey)
  5. Wish You Were Gay (feat. Sean O'Hagan)
  6. Our Anniversary (feat. Dead Rider)
  7. Rooftop Garden (feat. George Xylouris)
  8. Deacon Blues (feat. Bill MacKay)
  9. I Love You (feat. David Pajo)
  10. Sea Song (feat. Mick Turner)
  11. I've Been The One (feat. Meg Baird)
  12. Miracles (feat. Ty Segall)
  13. I Want to Go to the Beach (feat. Cooper Crain)
  14. Night Rider's Lament (feat. Cory Hanson)
  15. Arise, Therefore (feat. Six Organs of Admittance)
  16. The Night of Santiago (feat. David Grubbs)
  17. The Wild Kindness (feat. Cassie Berman)
  18. Lost in Love (feat. Emmett Kelly)
  19. She is My Everything (feat. Sir Richard Bishop)

Drag City Records

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences