Item added to your cart.

Stealing Sheep and The Radiophonic Workshop
La Planète Sauvage
Fire Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 23, 2021


René Laloux’s celebrated 1973 sci-fi animation ‘La Planète Sauvage (Fantastic Planet)’, is overhauled with a re-imagined soundtrack by electronic modernists Stealing Sheep and legendary sound innovators The Radiophonic Workshop. This exclusive release is part of Fire Records’ re-imagined score series.

“No institution has had a greater impact on the development of electronic music than the BBC Radiophonic Workshop.” The Vinyl Factory

It’s a real pre-Avatar conundrum that Stealing Sheep, with the help of Bob Earland, Dick Mills and Roger Limb from the Radiophonic Workshop, unravel. Creating an ethereal excursion that’s narrated by Roger Limb; like a futuristic Martin Denny, or Dr Who gone ambient techno, with a hint of Forbidden Planet 50 years on. It’s an analogue swirl set in an off-world paradise; a field recording from the future. This is a creative, generation-spanning, union brought together to score this unique cult film.

A must for fans of psyche electronica and Stealing Sheep’s formidable ‘Big Wows’ album.

“Stealing Sheep devour a broad range of styles, incorporating everything from the dark dance-pop of Grace Jones to the experimentations of Radiophonic Workshop pioneer Delia Derbyshire and John Carpenter soundtracks.” The Guardian

‘La Planète Sauvage’ is a thing of ambient beauty punctuated with electronic earworms that switches from intensely ominous to otherworldly dream like moments.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Opening Credits 1:09 Buy

    Opening Credits

  2. 2 The Chase 1:59 Buy
  3. 3 Saved/Captured 1:40 Buy


  4. 4 The Bracelet 2:27 Buy
  5. 5 Council Of Draags pt. I 4:01 Buy

    Council Of Draags pt. I

  6. 6 Terr & Tiwa 6:05 Buy
  7. 7 The Knowledge pt. I 3:46 Buy

    The Knowledge pt. I

  8. 8 The Fight 2:34 Buy
  9. 9 The Knowledge pt. II 2:14 Buy

    The Knowledge pt. II

  10. 10 The Initiation 1:54 Buy

    The Initiation

Show All Tracks 26

Vinyl Track List

Side A
A1 Opening Credits
A2 The Chase
A3 Saved/Captured
A4 The Bracelet
A5 Council of Draags pt.I
A6 Terr & Tiwa
A7 The Knowledge pt.I
Side B
B1 The Fight
B2 The Knowledge pt. II
B3 The Initiation
B4 Escape
B5 The Big Tree
B6 The Ritual
B7 The Duel
Side C
C1 Theft/Zarek
C2 The Bird
C3 The Free Oms
C4 The Purge
C5 The Journey to Ygam
C6 Council of Draags pt.II
Side D
D1 The City of Free Oms
D2 Robot Attack
D3 The Fantastic Planet
D4 The Final Battle
D5 Terr
D6 End Credits

Fire Records

View More


View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences