Item added to your cart.

Ryuichi Sakamoto
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 19, 2021

Press Release

Ryuichi Sakamoto's 1985 electronic and ambient classic released outside of Japan for the first time since its original release. ‘Esperanto’ is a fascinating instrumental work mixing electronica, ambient and synth pop. This special reissue comes with original artwork including a 2 page insert with a new introduction by Journalist Andy Beta. The audio has been remastered in Tokyo by Seigen Ono.

‘Esperanto’ was composed for a performance by New York avant garde choreographer Molissa Fenley. Produced and performed by Sakamoto with contribution by Arto Lindsay and Japanese percussionist Yas-Kaz, "Esperanto" originally came out in 1985 and was Ryuichi Sakamoto's sixth solo album.

It is composed of eight tracks displaying a varied mix of influences. "A Wongga Dance Song" comprises pulsating rhythms while "A Rain Song" adopts a minimalist mode with its distinctive repetitive patterns. "Dolphins" and "A Carved Stone" are captivating ambient pieces showcasing Sakamoto's talent for setting beautiful abstract melodic ornaments over atmospheric tones.

One of the highlights of the album is "Adelic Penguins", a fascinating proto techno piece with a funky twist stretching over six minutes which echoes the electro funk of 1981's album "Hidari Ude No Yume." "Ulu Watu", a collage-like piece featuring bird motives and a tropical soundscape closes the album with an experimental note.

Track List

  1. A Wongga Dance Song
  2. The Dreaming
  3. A Rain Song
  4. Dolphins
  5. A Human Tube
  6. Adelic Penguins
  7. A Carved Stone
  8. Ulu Watu

Ryuichi Sakamoto

View More


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences