Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Sound Wonders
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 8, 2021

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.

Press Release

Sound Wonders: A Series of Epics is the second compilation from Touchtheplants, the imprint and multidisciplinary creative environment founded by Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith and Sean Hellfritsch (aka Cool Maritime). Following 2020's Breathing Instruments, the new collection features sonic responses to a new prompt. Like its predecessor (which explored music as an extension of the human body and the natural world), the medium of focus here dates back to ancient civilizations. Smith invited artists to compose music based on the idea of epics: the long poems and narrative verse works that have detailed deeds and adventures since the dawn of storytelling. The musicians — some of today's most exciting practitioners of experimental sound design, instrumentation, and synthesis — took this directive loosely, realizing a series of vibrant and transportive songs evoking wondrous visions, subjects, and locales. From Elori Saxl’s chamber piece to Olive Ardizoni’s ode to the strange and beautiful phenomenon of starling murmurations with synth and xylophone tones the album splays out like chapters in a panoramic account of all that surrounds us.

Track List

  1. Elori Saxl: Moss II
  2. Matthewdavid’s Mindflight: Mycelial Mountain Flute
  3. Appa Wú Wéi: Liila
  4. Emile Mosseri: You’ve Got That Cowboy Spark
  5. Yialmelic Frequencies: Clunk
  6. Nailah Hunter: Naiad’s Lament
  7. Green-House: Starling Murmurations
  8. Emily Ritz: Tempest
  9. SK Kakraba: Pirrie


--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences