Item added to your cart.

Matthew E. White
K Bay
Domino Recording Co
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 10, 2021

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / Vinyl / CD purchases.


Press Release

K Bay, out on Domino Recordings, is the first new solo material from Matthew E. White in six years. Matthew E. White describes the album as a “love affair with music.” It’s a record thrillingly engaged with an eclectic range of contemporary and 20th Century popular music. The daring production mines and foregrounds long-simmering but previously veiled influences from the realms of hip-hop, electronic pop and dancehall but all filtered through White’s self- described outsider perspective. K Bay is an homage to Kensington Bay, his home studio where he records his personal projects and is his sanctuary of creativity (White’s second studio, Spacebomb, is where he works on collaborative projects and has recorded and produced records by Foxygen, Natalie Prass and Flo Morrissey). More than love, romance, or self-reliance, this is the animating ideal of ‘K Bay’ - that we can forever strive for something better, no matter how flawed or blessed we have already been. A decade ago, Matthew E. White made a classic beauty no one expected; on ‘K Bay’, he has made a masterpiece by harnessing what he’s learned from that community and life itself in entirely unexpected, electrifying, and reaffirming ways.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Genuine Hesitation Matthew E. White 7:10 Buy

    Genuine Hesitation

  2. 2 Electric Matthew E. White 3:29 Buy
  3. 3 Nested Matthew E. White 4:34 Buy
  4. 4 Take Your Time (And Find That Orange To Squeeze) Matthew E. White 6:18 Buy

    Take Your Time (And Find That Orange To Squeeze)

  5. 5 Let?s Ball Matthew E. White 3:48 Buy
  6. 6 Fell Like An Ax Matthew E. White 6:37 Buy

    Fell Like An Ax

  7. 7 Only in America / When The Curtains of the Night are Peeled Back Matthew E. White featuring Joseph "JoJo" Clarke 6:56 Buy

    Only in America / When The Curtains of the Night are Peeled Back

  8. 8 Never Had It Better Matthew E. White 5:53 Buy

    Never Had It Better

  9. 9 Judy Matthew E. White 3:51 Buy
  10. 10 Shine A Light For Me Matthew E. White 3:56 Buy

    Shine A Light For Me

  11. 11 Hedged In Darkness Matthew E. White 5:02 Buy

    Hedged In Darkness

Track List

  1. Genuine Hesitation
  2. Electric
  3. Nested
  4. Take Your Time (And Find That Orange To Squeeze)
  5. Let’s Ball Fell Like An Ax
  6. Only in America / When The Curtains of the Night are Peeled Back - feat. Joseph “JoJo” Clarke
  7. Never Had It Better
  8. Judy
  9. Shine A Light For Me
  10. Hedged In Darknes

Matthew E. White

Domino Recording Co

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences