Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Various Artists
Eins und Zwei und Drei und Vier - Deutsche Experimentelle Pop-Musik 1980-86
Bureau B
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 1, 2021


Press Release

A double album and single CD exploring the explosion of wealth of music springing from the squats and bedsits and artschools of Cologne, Dusseldorf, Hamburg and West Berlin in the aftermath of punk from the likes of Der Plan, Holger Hiller, Palais Schaumberg, Conrad Schnitzler and a host more

Do not adjust your sets. Take a step back from the tracking. This is the sound of Germany’s musical youth let loose on cheap synths and pawnshop guitars. A record of a disparate s cene of squat pop-stars, artschool upstarts and committed non-musicians who redefined German music in the first half of the 1980s.

By the dawn of the new decade, punk had burnt out in a frenzy of feedback, reshaping the musical landscape before burrowing back into the underground for a period of reinvention. But the scorched earth it left behind proved to be fertile soil, nurturing a new movement grass-rooting through Germany’s major cities. For the first time the country had its own youth culture, spilling out of the squats of Hamburg and West Berlin, occupying the art scene in Düsseldorf and Köln and congregating around independent record shops stocked with angsty import 7”s. Empowered by punk’s DIY spirit, these kids valued conviction over competence, opting to ignore the industry and make music for themselves, sung in their own language. Even the cats we now call krautrock, revolutionary though they were, mostly sang in English, adopting the lingua franca of rock & roll as a shorthand for authenticity for a native crowd who wouldn’t have it any other way. This new scene rejected the expected, celebrating freedom of expression above all else. Armed with unconventional instruments, newly affordable electronics and rudimentary recording gear, they worked from the ground up, building basic rhythms and simple melodies into mutant grooves and following their imagination wherever it took them. The result was a genre-fluid wave of fusion pop pulled from funk, punk, jazz and reggae; united in attitude rather than aesthetic. Lyrically, the groups explored the serious and silly, embracing the irreverence of dadaism to deliberately displease the earnest alternativen of the older generation.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Hey Baby Hop 3:17 Buy
  2. 2 Austauschprogramm 2:41 Buy


  3. 3 Mein Walkman ist kaputt 4:16 Buy

    Mein Walkman ist kaputt

  4. 4 Wir bauen eine neue Stadt 3:26 Buy

    Wir bauen eine neue Stadt

  5. 5 Keine Python 3:01 Buy
  6. 6 Muster 2:01 Buy
  7. 7 Sandkorn 3:30 Buy
  8. 8 Im Zoo 2:42 Buy
  9. 9 Sentimental 1:37 Buy
  10. 10 Guten Abend, Leute 5:38 Buy

    Guten Abend, Leute

Show All Tracks 20

Track List

  1. Der Plan – Hey Baby Hop
  2. Die Partei - Austauschprogramm
  3. P!OFF? - Mein Walkman ist kaputt
  4. Palais Schaumburg - Wir bauen ein neue Stadt
  5. Dunkelziffer - Keine Python
  6. Populäre Mechanik - Muster
  7. Andreas Dorau (Die Doraus & Die Marinas) - Sandkorn
  8. Pyrolator - Im Zoo
  9. Träneninvasion - Sentimental
  10. Deutsche Wertarbeit - Guten Abend, Leute
  11. Asmus Tietchens - Höhepunkt kleiner Mann
  12. Die Fische - So verrückt
  13. Conrad Schnitzler - Auf dem schwarzen Kanal
  14. Carambolage - Die Farbe war Mord
  15. Xao Seffcheque - Sample & Hold (Wer bitter im Munde hat,kann nicht süßpricken)
  16. Foyer des Arts - Eine Königin mit Rädern untendran (Gerd Bluhm Remix)
  17. Die Zimmermänner - Erwin, das tanzende Messer
  18. Östro 430 - Sexueller Notstand
  19. Die Radierer - Angriff aufs Schlaraffenland
  20. Holger Hiller - Jonny (Du Lump)

Bureau B

View More


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences