Item added to your cart.

Temple Of The New Sun
Phantom Limb
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 8, 2021


Originally recorded in 1980s New Mexico, the meeting of American ethnomusicologist Jim Berenholtz with Aztec descendent Mazatl Galindo through ‘Temple Of The New Sun’ culminated as a divine ritual traversing millennia. Xochimochi incanted mythological folktales at sacred ceremonial cites, telling stories of the Mesoamerican people through native languages and indigenous instruments. In reanimating lost celestial sounds, their record projects a distinctive supernatural aura, but upon listening, one would also be struck by its moments of dissonance as much as mediative serenity. As much as its capacity for historiography and storytelling, the experimental textures of Xochimoki also resonate with the modern avant-garde.

  1. 1 Pantzikuini 1:05
  2. 2 Naui Ollin 2:00
  3. 3 Tua Ra 1:00
  4. 4 Tlakayotl 1:17
  5. 5 Zan Totemikuiko 2:00
  6. 6 Kokoyo Kayotl 1:06
  7. 7 Tlalokan 2:00
  8. 8 Ketzalpapalotl 2:00
  9. 9 Nah Chan 2:00
  10. 10 Malinalli Koatl 2:00
  11. 11 Tlahuizkalli 0:51

Track List

  1. Pantzikuini
  2. Naui Ollin
  3. Tua Ra
  4. Tlakayotl
  5. Zan Totemikuiko
  6. Kokoyo Kayotl
  7. Tlalokan
  8. Ketzalpapalotl
  9. Nah Chan
  10. Malinalli Koatl
  11. Tlahuizkalli

Phantom Limb

View More


View More

Folk and Traditional Music

View More

Limited Editions

View More

Vinyl Reissue

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences