Item added to your cart.

The Knife
Silent Shout
Rabid Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 17, 2006

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.

Press Release

The Knife reached yet another pinnacle with Silent Shout. After the effervescent, Eurodisco-tinged pop of their 2003 album, Deep Cuts, the Dreijers developed a dark parallel world on their 2006 follow-up. With menacing electronics rooted in early techno and identity masking via the art of pitch shifting, The Knife used their platform to subvert institutional structures and challenge social norms. They were a band with something to say and people were listening. For all its clean air, the isolated community they were raised in was suffocatingly patriarchal. The weight of gendered expectations almost too much to bear. In that context, Silent Shout is a protest album of sorts. Songs like “Forest Families” and “One Hit” gnash their teeth at the pressure that sexism, homophobia, and capitalism exert. The album’s sometimes eerie interpretation of ’90s techno and trance — a formative era for both siblings — proved the perfect foil for the stinging social realism of its song lyrics. While there'd always been at least a year-long delay between the Swedish and international releases of their previous albums, Silent Shout was released everywhere at once. And, for the first time, they took their music on tour. On stage, they wore black pantyhose over their heads daubed with UV paint. For interviews, they used their bird masks and altered their voices any time they were on video. They became famous for not wanting to be famous.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Silent Shout 4:54 Buy
  2. 2 Neverland 3:38 Buy
  3. 3 The Captain 6:09 Buy
  4. 4 We Share Our Mother's Health 4:12 Buy

    We Share Our Mother's Health

  5. 5 Na Na Na 2:28 Buy
  6. 6 Marble House (feat. Jay-Jay Johanson) 5:19 Buy

    Marble House (feat. Jay-Jay Johanson)

  7. 7 Like a Pen 6:13 Buy
  8. 8 From Off to On 3:58 Buy

    From Off to On

  9. 9 Forest Families 4:09 Buy

    Forest Families

  10. 10 One Hit 4:28 Buy
  11. 11 Still Light 3:16 Buy

Track List

A1 Silent Shout
A2 Neverland
A3 The Captain
B1 We Share Our Mothers' Health
B2 Na Na Na
B3 Marble House
C1 Like A Pen
C2 From Off To On
D1 Forest Families
D2 One Hit
D3 Still Light

  • Silent Shout

The Knife

View More

Rabid Records

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences