Item added to your cart.

Angel Olsen
Song of the Lark and Other Far Memories
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 7, 2021


Originally conceived as a double album, All Mirrors and Whole New Mess were distinct parts of a larger whole, twin stars that each expressed something bigger and bolder than Angel Olsen had ever made. Released in 2019, All Mirrors is massive in scope and sound, tracing Olsen’s ascent into the unknown, to a place of true self-acceptance, no matter how dark, or difficult, or seemingly lonely. All Mirrors is colossal, moving, dramatic in an Old Hollywood manner. Recorded before All Mirrors but released after, Whole New Mess is the bones and beginnings of the songs that would rewrite Olsen’s story. This is Angel Olsen in her classic style: stark solo performances, echoes and open spaces, her voice both whispered and enormous. All Mirrors and Whole New Mess presented the two glorious extremes of an artist who, in these songs, became new by embracing herself entirely. Now, with Songs of the Lark… And Other Far Memories, these twin stars become a constellation with the full extent of the songs’ iterations: all the alternate takes, b-sides, remixes and reimaginings are here, together. Alongside, a 40-page book collection tells a similar story, not just through outtakes and unseen photos but through the smaller, evocative details: handwritten lyrics, a favorite necklace, a beaded chandelier. As if it could be more plainly stated (there’s nothing more), Angel adds one cover here: a loving, assertive rendition of Roxy Music’s “More Than This.” It is a definitive collection, not just of these songs but of their revelations and their writer, from their simplest origins to their mightiest realizations.

Digital Tracklist

Disc 1

  1. 1 Lark 6:19 Buy
  2. 2 All Mirrors 4:42 Buy
  3. 3 Too Easy 2:58 Buy
  4. 4 New Love Cassette 3:26 Buy

    New Love Cassette

  5. 5 Spring 3:23 Buy
  6. 6 What It Is 3:17 Buy
  7. 7 Impasse 4:24 Buy
  8. 8 Tonight 4:39 Buy
  9. 9 Summer 4:05 Buy
  10. 10 Endgame 5:20 Buy

Disc 2

  1. 1 Whole New Mess 3:43 Buy

    Whole New Mess

  2. 2 Too Easy (Bigger Than Us) 2:32 Buy

    Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)

  3. 3 (New Love) Cassette 2:50 Buy

    (New Love) Cassette

  4. 4 (We Are All Mirrors) 2:37 Buy

    (We Are All Mirrors)

  5. 5 (Summer Song) 4:10 Buy
  6. 6 Waving, Smiling 3:52 Buy

    Waving, Smiling

  7. 7 Tonight (Without You) 4:01 Buy

    Tonight (Without You)

  8. 8 Lark Song 6:31 Buy
  9. 9 Impasse (Workin' For The Name) 3:48 Buy

    Impasse (Workin' For The Name)

  10. 10 Chance (Forever Love) 5:29 Buy

    Chance (Forever Love)

Disc 3

  1. 1 All Mirrors (Johnny Jewel remix) 3:39 Buy

    All Mirrors (Johnny Jewel remix)

  2. 2 New Love Cassette (Mark Ronson Remix) 3:28 Buy

    New Love Cassette (Mark Ronson Remix)

  3. 3 More Than This 3:27 Buy

    More Than This

  4. 4 Smaller 1:04 Buy
  5. 5 It's Every Season (Whole New Mess) 4:56 Buy

    It's Every Season (Whole New Mess)

  6. 6 Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling) 4:16 Buy

    Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling)

Show All Tracks 28

Vinyl Track List

SIDE A: 1. Lark 2. All Mirrors

SIDE B: 3. Too Easy 4. New Love Cassette 5. Spring

SIDE C: 6. What It Is 7. Impasse 8. Tonight

SIDE D: 9. Summer 10. Endgame 11. Chance

SIDE E: 12. Whole New Mess 13. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us) 14. (New Love) Cassette 15. (We Are All Mirrors) 16. (Summer Song) 17. Waving, Smiling

SIDE F: 18. Tonight (Without You) 19. Lark Song 20. Impasse (Workin’ For The Name) 21. Chance (Forever Love) 22. What It Is (What It Is)

SIDE G: 23. All Mirrors (Johnny Jewel Remix) 24. New Love Cassette (Mark Ronson Remix) 25. Smaller

SIDE H: 26. It’s Every Season (Whole New Mess) 27. Alive and Dying (Waving, Smiling) 28. More Than This

Angel Olsen

View More


View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences