Item added to your cart.

Kenny Larkin
Metaphor (Expanded Edition)
Art Of Dance
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 29, 2021

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl / Vinyl purchases.


Alongside Jeff Mills and Carl Craig -- the other two rulers of Detroit techno’s vital second wave -- Kenny Larkin’s realms of influence spread far and run deep; the immortal 4/4 forever changed by his impact, the soundtracks of clubs across the States, the UK and countless other European hubs will always owe him a debt. Larkin has always been on a far superior level of techno nobility, and it’s there to see on the cover of his groundbreaking second LP, 1995’s Metaphor. Unlike his royal peers, Larkin has the steely-eyed smoulder of a popstar; sly, cheeky and inviting.

It’s a perfect visual to accompany the music of Metaphor, starting with ‘Intro’. Kraftwerkian phased snares propel themselves along a mounting set of classic house keys, as alien synths wryly observe from above — a masterful ploy to conceal the surprising playfulness heard in the melee of handclaps and twinkling bells on ‘Nocturnal’. The motor-city drum machines we’ve come to recognise as iconic clang and whirr well into the dual parts of ‘Catatonic’; its first iteration heavy on the hardcore sound, the second a blissfully ambient meditation, and both possessing Larkin’s unique knack for instantly memorable grooves and extraordinary sonic flourishes.

Available on coloured triple vinyl exclusively from Bleep, this long-overdue reissue of Larkin’s Detroit techno classic is still peerless over 25 years later.

'Metaphor' has been legitimately reissued for 2021 on Kenny’s own Art Of Dance imprint
Remastered from DAT tapes (with the exception of 2 tracks) and original sources by Curve Pusher
Designed by Atelier Superplus

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Intro 6:25 Buy
  2. 2 Metaphor 6:44 Buy
  3. 3 Nocturnal 5:57 Buy
  4. 4 Loop 1 4:10 Buy
  5. 5 Java 7:00 Buy
  6. 6 Groove 5:22 Buy
  7. 7 Loop 1.5 4:20 Buy
  8. 8 Catatonic (First State) 7:23 Buy

    Catatonic (First State)

  9. 9 Catatonic (Part 2) 8:52 Buy

    Catatonic (Part 2)

  10. 10 Loop 2 4:28 Buy
  11. 11 Soul Man 6:09 Buy
  12. 12 Sympathy 5:25 Buy
  13. 13 Butterflies 9:01 Buy
  14. 14 Amethyst 7:56 Buy
  15. 15 Life Goes On 7:45 Buy

Track List

A1 Intro
A2 Metaphor
B1 Nocturnal
B2 Loop 1
B3 Java
C1 Groove
C2 Loop 1.5
D1 Catatonic (Part 2)
C3 Catatonic (First State)
D2 Loop 2
D3 Soul Man
E1 Sympathy
E2 Butterflies
F1 Amethyst
F2 Life Goes On

Kenny Larkin

View More

Dancefloor and Techno

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences