Item added to your cart.

Víkingur Ólafsson
Deutsche Grammophon
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 12, 2021


The line between contemporary neo-classical composition and the works of the French Impressionists is a very clear one, but few musicians have the tenacity and vision to reimagine the masters quite like Víkingur Ólafsson. Following his striking set of Bach reworks, Reflections finds the Icelandic composer taking on Debussy, the forefather of emotive piano pieces, digging deep into his pauses and revealing the remarkably modern sensibility of ‘Bruyères’. The spaces between delicately placed notes contain a quiet, considered drama, like taking a gasp of breath without quite knowing when the exhale will come.

Track List

A1. Bruyeres (Home Session) (3:35)
A2. La Damoiselle Elue (Hania Rani rework) (4:59)
A3. Canope (Home Session) (3:45)
A4. Footsteps (3:46)
B1. Muse D'eau (3:32)
B2. L'Entretien Des Muses (Hugar rework) (5:25)
B3. KAHD (4:22)
B4. Reflection (5:28)
C1. Pour Le Piano: Predule (3:58)
C2. Pour Le Piano: Sarabande (5:11)
C3. Pour Le Piano: Toccata (3:56)
C4. Drowned Haiku (4:01)
D1. Canope (3:46)
D2. La Cupis (Balmorhea rework) (4:20)
D3. Bruyeres (3:32)

Deutsche Grammophon

View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences