Item added to your cart.

Roy Montgomery
Island Of Lost Souls
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 12, 2021


Quietly a post-rock innovator since his 1995 debut, there’s never an occasion when New Zealand composer Roy Montgomery can’t make his guitar sing impossible tones. Billed as the first instalment of a polyptych for the Grapefruit imprint, Island Of Lost Souls is perhaps the album he was always supposed to make; a sprawling work of deep psychedelia which recalls his artistic inspirations — Harold Budd, Popol Vuh — as well as those he himself inspired, such as Grouper and Julianna Barwick. His vast, side-long ode to krautrock and second-century mysticism ‘The Electric Children of Hildegard von Bingen (For Florian Fricke)’ alone seems like a perfect crystallisation of Montgomery’s on-going project.

  • First of four new releases by pioneer of the NZ underground, celebrating forty years in music
  • Final, side-long track ranks amongst the artist’s most captivating works
  • Artwork by New Zealand artist Trudi Cameron, whose artwork will be on each of the four records

Track List

  1. Cowboy Mouth (For Sam Shepard)
  2. Soundcheck (For Adrian Borland)
  3. Unhalfmuted (For Peter Principle)
  4. The Electric Children Of Hildegard Von Bingen (For Florian Fricke)
  • Island Of Lost Souls

Roy Montgomery

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences