Item added to your cart.

Alva Noto / Ryuichi Sakamoto
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 11, 2020

The most fluid team-ups often yield the best results, Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakomoto make a great case. Sakomoto’s work both with Yellow Magic Orchestra and on his own laid the foundation for many artists to come, and it could be claimed that Alva Noto’s acclaimed minimal techno and ambient work built off his innovations. That these two would someday work together makes some cosmic sense, their music already seemed to be in conversation.

While now known for award-winning soundtracks like 2015’s The Revenant, their journey together began in 2002 with the release of Vrioon, a spellbinding collection of modern classical that saw brilliant minds from different eras break new ground. The first in what was dubbed the Virus Series (the first letter of each of its five records’ titles put together spell out the word “virus”) by the two composers, Viroon can be viewed reflexively both as a overture for much inspired work as well as a strong statement in its own right. There is a fragile balance throughout, disparate influences and tactics playing off each other in a way that creates some sort of new music in its wake. It’s almost like the sounds of their prior individual triumphs come together in pursuit of something else entirely. Tender and sparse trickles of glacial piano rub against glitch-y bursts of electronic percussion and white hot noise, both taking on more depth tracks like the ten-minute centrepiece ‘Noon’ and its preceding ‘Duoon’. Comparatively, the haunting stillness of Viroon’s closing ‘Trioon’ duo recall satellites speaking to each other across the stars.

Remastered for the first time and housed with rarities and unreleased compositions in a newly designed sleeve that features the original album art by Alva Noto himself, this and the rest of the Virus Series’ fine recordings are being given the deluxe reissue treatment they deserve.

Remastered in collaboration with Calyx Mastering, the recordings of Vrioon, Insen, Revep, Utp_, and Summvs are made available on vinyl and CD under the title ‘reMASTER, accompanied by exclusive, unreleased compositions and housed in a beautifully designed sleeve with original cover art by Carsten Nicolai.

Digital Tracklist

Vinyl Track List

A1. Uoon I (00:13:50)
A2. Uoon II (00:09:40)
B1. Duoon (00:05:47)
B2. Noon (00:10:12)
C1. Trioon I (00:05:08)
C2. Trioon II (00:09:57)
D1. Landscape Skizze (00:08:12)

CD Track List

  1. Uoon I (00:13:50)
  2. Uoon II (00:09:40)
  3. Duoon (00:05:47)
  4. Noon (00:10:12)
  5. Trioon I (00:05:08)
  6. Trioon II (00:09:57)
  7. Landscape Skizze (00:08:12)

Alva Noto / Ryuichi Sakamoto


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences