Item added to your cart.

The Durutti Column
Sex and Death
Factory Benelux
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 23, 2021

Press Release

Factory Benelux presents an expanded double vinyl edition of Sex and Death, the 11th studio album by lauded Factory Records ensemble The Durutti Column. Originally released in 1994 on CD only, the album has now been re-mastered with 5 bonus tracks and appears on vinyl for the VERY FIRST TIME in a coloured vinyl edition limited to 1500 copies. A 2xCD edition is also available (FBN 201 CD).

The writing and recording of Sex and Death closed an uncertain period for Vini Reilly and the group following the collapse of Factory Records in 1992. Factory founder Tony Wilson remained in post as manager of the band, but Sex and Death would be their last album with producer Stephen Street, famed for his work with Morrissey, The Smiths and Blur. Writer and master guitarist Vini Reilly remained philosophical. “People say the Durutti Column is this or that. I don’t care, so long as we make good music. There’s screaming feedback on some tracks, heavy metal guitar, Spanish picking. It’s not just this ethereal trip. Don’t listen to the form, never listen to the form. Listen to the content.”

Stand-out tracks include Anthony (dedicated to Wilson), The Rest of My Life, and Believe In Me. Guest musicians include viola player John Metcalfe, vocalist Ruth-Ann Boyle (later to form hitmakers Olive with Tim Kellett), programmer Martin Jackson (Magazine, Swing Out Sister) and bassist Peter Hook, then on furlough from New Order post-Republic.

All 5 bonus tracks on the vinyl are previously unreleased, having been retrieved from a long-lost DAT tape located in Tony Wilson’s personal archive. Of the 10 bonus tracks on the CD, 6 are previously unreleased, having been retrieved from a long-lost DAT tape located in Tony Wilson’s personal archive. The other 4 are album outtakes previously only available as an online download.

All tracks on the album have been newly re-mastered in 2020 by Peter Beckmann and Technology Works.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Track List

LP Disc 1

A1. Anthony A2. The Rest of My Life A3. For Colette
A4. The Next Time
B1. Beautiful Lies
B2. My Irascible Friend
B3. Believe In Me
B4. Fermina

LP Disc 2

C1. Where I Should Be
C2. Fado
C3. Madre Mio
C4. Blue Period
C5. War Torn
D1. Picking Guitar for the Shrimp
D2. The Celestial Bar
D3. Jumble Drums, Growling Bass and the Whammy Bar
D4. For Cameron de la Isla

CD Disc 1

  1. Anthony
  2. The Rest of My Life
  3. For Colette
  4. The Next Time
  5. Beautiful Lies
  6. My Irascible Friend
  7. Believe In Me
  8. Fermina
  9. Where I Should Be
  10. Fado
  11. Madre Mio
  12. Blue Period

CD Disc 2

  1. Believe In Me (Mix 1)
  2. You Mess Me Up
  3. My Only Love (aka Duet)
  4. Believe In Me (Mix 2)
  5. Picking Guitar for the Shrimp
  6. Get Me to the Beat On Time
  7. Jumble Drums, Growling Bass and the Whammy Bar
  8. For Cameron de la Isla
  9. War Torn
  10. The Celestial Bar

The Durutti Column

View More

Factory Benelux

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences