Item added to your cart.

His Name Is Alive
Home Recordings 1979 - 1990
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 12, 2021

Instant download of the following tracks with all pre-orders:

  • 'Piano Rev'
  • 'Lliadin'
  • 'Something About Hope'
  • 'All The Mirrors In The House'
  • 'Because Piano'
  • 'Rememory'
  • 'Tape Sound'
  • 'Guitar Rev'
  • 'Fine As Feathers'
  • 'Reflection Pool'
  • 'Equally Divided'
  • 'Tape Slow'
  • 'Outside The Window'
  • 'Echo Lake'
  • 'F Choir'
  • 'Return To Never'
  • 'Lake Night'
  • 'Morning Machine'
  • 'Early Version'
  • 'Piano V'
  • 'To Remember'
  • 'My Thoughts Are To Thee Drawn'
  • 'Guitar Echo'
  • 'Forever Getting Lost'
  • 'Chords'
  • 'From The Night Tape'
  • 'Descending'
  • 'Last Thing Thought Of'
  • 'Whitesnake'
  • 'Gone'
  • 'Liadin'

Full release delivered on release date: 02.12.21

A 60 track anthology compiling early work by Warren Defever aka His Name Is Alive, prior to signing to 4AD. This set compiles 3 volumes previously released on vinyl, alongside a bonus disc and 36 page booklet. 

The first of disc All The Mirrors In The House focusses on the period of 1979-1986, a timespan which means that some of the entries here were made when Defever was as young as 10. The tender age at which Defever created these pieces gives them an air of childlike curiosity. On this record we see a young person’s musical understanding developing in real time. Disc 2 Return To Never selects work from formative works dating from Defever’s teenage years using beautiful greyscale drones and ambiences that often come doused in liberal amounts of tape hiss. Hope Is A Candle features later work from 1985-90’. The utopian atmospheres of fourth world music, industrial’s bold sampling and cathedral-wide ambient sounds can all be found here - though it is a testament to the vision of the young Defever that, even with all those balls in play, Hope Is A Candle ultimately sounds like nothing other than His Name Is Alive.

The final disc collates some of the best tracks from the cassette companion volumes that were released alongside each LP - 6Teen OK, Return Versions and Ghost Tape EXP. Disciples deliver yet another fantastic archival collection from Warren Defever’s vast catalogue.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Piano Rev 2:03 Buy
  2. 2 Lliadin 2:55 Buy
  3. 3 Something About Hope 2:35 Buy

    Something About Hope

  4. 4 All The Mirrors In The House 1:27 Buy

    All The Mirrors In The House

  5. 5 Because Piano 2:23 Buy
  6. 6 Rememory 4:43 Buy
  7. 7 Tape Sound 0:36 Buy
  8. 8 Guitar Rev 2:01 Buy
  9. 9 Fine As Feathers 2:20 Buy

    Fine As Feathers

  10. 10 Reflection Pool 4:01 Buy
Show All Tracks 60

His Name Is Alive

View More

His Name Is Alive


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences