Item added to your cart.

Μετά Το Ρέιβ
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 29, 2021

Press Release

‘Μετά Το Ρέιβ’ is the original debut LP by Maria Spivak, a rawly expressive set of ambient synth- pop inspired by her Cypriot heritage, and channelling mystic vibes from Lena Platonos to Drexciya - very special stuff, indeed.

The latest addition to Ecstatic’s sprawling cabal, Spivak arrives fully formed with a quietly penetrative sound, layering her haunted but coolly melodic vocals and synth pads around bare-bones, DIY production that makes a virtue of “mistakes” and grit in-the-mix.

Lessons from ’80s post-punk to ambient-pop and trip hop inform Spivak’s music as much as her observations on Cypriot sociopolitics, culture, and nature. But the references are more suggestive than concrete, often imperceptibly woven into her songs with a fine sort of folk art filigree that feels timeless but directly effective within her field, recalling the low-key magick of everyone from Teresa Winter to HTRK, yet gauzily delivered from her own, enchanted perspective.

Spivak has worked towards this seemingly effortless style and conception of atmosphere for a decade, flowering from MA studies in Architecture in the UK, to develop her roots in Cyprus, where she draws on the energies of a small but active local scene, as well as the island’s agitated recent history, against a backdrop of myth-inspiring topography, that all help imbue her style of sound sculpture with a distinctive, quietly conflicted soul.

Her first bouquet of songs are intimate but prickly, ancient and futuristic creations, unfurling from primitive dream-pop in ‘Minus The motivational Speech’, to the nerve-tweaking chamber blooz of ‘Hardware Store Ballad’ with a deeply arresting, story-telling style that’s naturally brought to life in the music; from the ephemeral sensuality of ‘Sec’, sounding like Lena Platonos meets The Other People Place, to the haunted dancehall swoon of ‘Enough Throwbacks’, thru her title song’s seething/soothing synth candescence, and the lo-fi Cosey-meets-BoC beauty‘Σχεδόν Σίγουρα (with H4S).’

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Minus The Motivational Speech 3:00 Buy

    Minus The Motivational Speech

  2. 2 Sec 4:11 Buy
  3. 3 The Place 3:10 Buy
  4. 4 Enough Throwbacks 3:50 Buy

    Enough Throwbacks

  5. 5 ?e?a ?? ?eib 3:44 Buy
  6. 6 ?????? ??????? (with H4S) 3:48 Buy

    ?????? ??????? (with H4S)

  7. 7 ??????? ?? 3:26 Buy
  8. 8 ??????? 3:38 Buy
  9. 9 ? ??? ?????? ??????? 3:16 Buy

    ? ??? ?????? ???????

  10. 10 Hardware Store Ballad 2:42 Buy

    Hardware Store Ballad

Track List

  1. Minus The Motivational Speech
  2. Sec
  3. The Place
  4. Enough Throwbacks
  5. Μετά Το Ρέιβ
  6. Σχεδόν Σίγουρα (with H4S)
  7. Πήγαινέ Μέ
  8. Θυμάσαι
  9. Η Πιό Όμορφη Θάλασσα
  10. Hardware Store Ballad



View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences