Item added to your cart.

Clint Mansell & Kronos Quartet
Requiem for a Dream
Release Date
December 4, 2020


Press Release

To coincide with its 20th anniversary, Clint Mansell's haunting score to Darren Aronofsky's 2000 film, Requiem for a Dream, performed by Kronos Quartet, returns to vinyl. This was Mansell’s second of several collaborations with Aronofsky, following 1997’s π, and features arrangements by David Lang of Bang on a Can. The film stars Academy Award-winner Ellen Burstyn, Jared Leto, Jennifer Connelly and Marlon Wayans, and was adapted from the 1978 novel by Hubert Selby, Jr. (Last Exit to Brooklyn), who also wrote the screenplay with Aronofsky. Set on the rusted mean streets of Coney Island, Brooklyn, Requiem for a Dream tells the parallel stories of four people pursuing their dreams of better lives. The reissue features the original soundtrack, plus two bonus tracks.

Clint Mansell, a musician, composer, and founding member of the band Pop Will Eat Itself, first worked with Darren Aronofsky on the score for his 1998 film π. Also released by Nonesuch are Mansell’s scores for Aronofsky's The Fountain (2006), nominated for a Golden Globe, and Noah (2014). His other scores include The Wrestler (2008), Moon (2009), Black Swan (2010), Filth (2013), Stoker (2013), High Rise (2016), for which he received an Ivor Novello nomination, and Loving Vincent (2017).

For more than 40 years, San Francisco’s Kronos Quartet – David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola), and Sunny Yang (cello) – has combined a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, performing thousands of concerts, releasing more than 50 recordings, collaborating with many of the world’s most eclectic composers and performers, and commissioning over 850 works and arrangements for string quartet. A Grammy winner, Kronos is also the only recipient of both the Polar Music Prize and the Avery Fisher Prize. Most recently, in 2019, Nonesuch released Kronos’s ground-breaking collaboration with composer Terry Riley, Sun Rings, and, in 2017, Folk Songs, featuring Sam Amidon, Olivia Chaney, Rhiannon Giddens and Natalie Merchant.

Track List

A1. Summer Overture
A2. Party
A3. Coney Island Dreaming
A4. Party
A5. Chocolate Charms
A6. Ghosts of Things to Come
A7. Dreams
A8. Tense
A9. Dr. Pill
A10. High on Life
A11. Ghosts
A12. Crimin' & Dealin'
A13. Hope Overture
A14. Tense
A15. Bialy & Lox Conga

B1. Cleaning Apartment
B2. Ghosts-Falling
B3. Dreams
B4. Arnold
B5. Marion Barfs
B6. Supermarket Sweep
B7. Dreams
B8. Sara Goldfarb Has Left the Building
B9. Bugs Got a Devilish Grin Conga

C1. Winter Overture
C2. Southern Hospitality
C3. Fear
C4. Full Tense 
C5. The Beginning of the End
C6. Ghosts of a Future Lost
C7. Meltdown
C8. Lux Aeterna
C9. Coney Island Low

D1. Purple in the Morning, Blue in the Afternoon, Orange in the Evening, Green at Night
D2. 30 Days to Revolutionize Your Life!!! 1-900-976-JUICE


View More


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences