Item added to your cart.

Touching Bass
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 27, 2020


A heartfelt contemporary classic, cktrl's jazz opus Robyn delivers the passion resonating in the underbelly of our musical landscapes. Simplified compositions enveloped in glowing saxophone and clarinet, guide us through luscious spectrums of heartbreak and hope, while uniting the visions of cktrl’s many close collaborators as a pivotal producer and multi-instrumentalist. cktrl is an integral point of London’s devoted jazz-underground, a figure connecting hidden presences with international names like Sampha, Sango, Kelela and Dean Blunt, and recognised far ahead as an original DJ on NTS. Born and raised in Lewisham, with Robyn, cktrl underlines local ties by teaming up with Errol and Alex Rita’s South London-based platform Touching Bass.

Resounding as innovative as pure, Robyn’s moods are articulate as John Coltrane but use the language of South East London’s new-fashioned sensibilities. From minimal motifs in Lighthouse to the smooth production As you are, the record nimbly combines a modern flair to its classic tendencies. Its all-encompassing concept draws in heralded creators from various other fields, from film, fashion to photography. Its artwork was formed by the distinctive stylings of the iconic Ib Kamara, a driving force behind i-D and DAZED, while CHILD studio’s videos for Robyn are stripped back to an essential beauty.

Many creative pioneers contribute to this release; its haunting, overpowering senses are achieved by perspectives that carry its elemental origins through to their emotive endpoint.

All compositions written and performed by Bradley Miller

dreams of you, are too much to speak (CKTRL, clarinet; Duval Timothy, piano)
love and all the things (CKTRL, clarinet)
lighthouse (CKTRL, clarinet; Duval Timothy, piano)
robyn (CKTRL, tenor saxophone; Duval Timothy, production)
will the feelings leave (CKTRL, clarinet; Duval Timothy, piano)
as you are (CKTRL, production; Purple Ferdinand, backing vocals; Shirley Tetteh, electric guitar; Coby Sey, bass guitar)

Mastering: Barry Grint (Alchemy Mastering)
Creative Direction/Photography: Ib Kamara
Make Up: Ammy Drammeh (Bryant Artists)
Graphic Design: Alex Rita and Errol Anderson

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Lighthouse 1:50 Buy
  2. 2 Robyn 5:30 Buy
  3. 3 Will the Feelings Leave 7:36 Buy

    Will the Feelings Leave

  4. 4 As You Are 2:03 Buy

Track List

  1. dreams of you are too much to speak
  2. love and all the things
  3. Lighthouse
  4. Robyn
  5. will the feelings leave
  6. as you are


Touching Bass


View More


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences