Item added to your cart.

Leaving Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 16, 2020


Press Release

‘Push’ is Maral’s debut full-length album due on Leaving Records. The album’s sonic palette includes a collage of Iranian classical and folk samples and explores the genres of experimental electronic production, touching upon noise, punk / post-punk and dub. Maral is an active and acclaimed musician in the electronic underground. Her debut mixtape was widely praised and she has contributed to several compilations and Richard Russell’s Crass remix project. ‘Push’ features dub legend Lee “Scratch” Perry and Penny Rimbaud of Crass. ‘Push’ is a confident step forward from Maral’s club and mixtape work into a powerful collection of original songs. The album bursts with an urgent psychedelic energy but its songs also grapple with a sombre undercurrent. Maral says her album is intended to reflect tense US-Iranian relations: “The history of Iranian music has a lot of melancholy in it. So much of Iranian history is sad. Since ancient times, Iranians were always fighting off invasions.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Kerman Wobble Maral 2:21 Buy
  2. 2 Protect U Maral feat. Lee "Scratch" Perry 2:26 Buy
  3. 3 Push Maral 1:55 Buy
  4. 4 Dashti Maral 3:45 Buy
  5. 5 Bushehr Maral 2:04 Buy
  6. 6 Sweet Thing Maral 1:42 Buy
  7. 7 No Type Maral 1:51 Buy
  8. 8 Aziz-e-Man Maral 3:10 Buy
  9. 9 Jadoo Maral 2:20 Buy
  10. 10 Sweet vs. Heavy Maral 1:47 Buy

    Sweet vs. Heavy

  11. 11 Let The Distortion Sing Maral 3:00 Buy

    Let The Distortion Sing

  12. 12 Vortex In Love Maral 3:38 Buy

    Vortex In Love

  13. 13 Lita's Song Maral 2:03 Buy
  14. 14 They Not They Maral feat. Penny Rimbaud 2:52 Buy
  15. 15 Salam Maral 2:28 Buy


View More

Leaving Records

View More

Experimental and Noise

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences