Item added to your cart.

Lawrence Lek
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 27, 2020
  • Vinyl, 1×LP, Limited Edition

    Pre-order $22.99
    Read More


    • Limited to 500 copies
    • Includes four artwork inserts

    Available: December 18, 2020
    Estimated shipping: December 17, 2020

Instant download of the following tracks with all FLAC, WAV, MP3 pre-orders:

  • 'Unreal'
  • 'Followers (Diva's Theme)'

Full release delivered on release date: 11.27.20

Press Release

Hyperdub are excited to present our first soundtrack release, Lawrence Lek's score for his debut feature film ‘AIDOL’, which premiered at Sadie Coles HQ in 2019 and has been shown at numerous virtual and physical festivals and exhibitions worldwide. Lawrence Lek is a simulation artist who uses computer-generated animation and video game engines to create films and virtual worlds that play with the language of science fiction, music videos and corporate world building. He has released soundtracks to five of his previous projects, most recently ‘Temple’ OST (Vinyl Factory, 2020). ‘AIDOL’ continues his on-going 'Sinofuturist' cinematic universe, which posits the creative theory that China's technological rise is an emergent form of Artificial Intelligence. ‘AIDOL’ is a CGI fantasy that tells the story of a fading superstar, Diva, who enlists an aspiring AI songwriter to mount a comeback performance at the 2065 eSports Olympic finale. Set in a realm of spectacular architecture, sentient drones and snow-deluged jungles, ‘AIDOL’ revolves around the long and evolving struggle between humanity and Artificial Intelligence; a shifting and seductive virtual reality, punctuated by Diva’s songs and the voice of Kode9 as the unforgiving label boss. The soundtrack is a delicate lattice - complex, opaque and entirely synthetic. Diva’s yearning vocals - created with a Vocaloid voice synthesiser, sung in English and Mandarin - cast classical melodies over billowing, intricate arrangements. The instrumental tracks, produced with composer Seth Scott, are elegiac and beautiful, hybridising the film score archetype, folding in patterns from game soundtracks, vaporwave, and ambient fourth world music.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Intro (My Single Isn't Finished Yet) Lawrence Lek 1:16
  2. 2 Deep Blue Monday Lawrence Lek 3:06
  3. 3 In The Game Lawrence Lek 2:48
  4. 4 Chance Encounter (Jungle Theme) Lawrence Lek with Seth Scott 2:16
  5. 5 Call Of Beauty Lawrence Lek 4:47
  6. 6 Welcome To SoMA Lawrence Lek with Seth Scott 1:56
  7. 7 Unreal Lawrence Lek 2:54 Buy
  8. 8 Superstar Lawrence Lek 3:54
  9. 9 One Nation Lawrence Lek 5:49
  10. 10 Beware Your Fans, Diva Lawrence Lek 2:25
  11. 11 Call Of Beauty (eSports Reprise) Lawrence Lek with Seth Scott 3:55
  12. 12 Followers (Diva's Theme) Lawrence Lek 4:50 Buy

    Followers (Diva's Theme)

  13. 13 Farsight's Greatest Star Lawrence Lek 1:55
  14. 14 In My Prime (Bonus Track) Lawrence Lek 2:31
  15. 15 Apocalypse (End Credits) Lawrence Lek with Seth Scott 2:45

Lawrence Lek


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences