Item added to your cart.

Matthew Halsall
Salute to the Sun
Gondwana Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 20, 2020


Gondwana Records boss and trumpeter Matthew Halsall steps into the band-leader’s limelight again for the first time since 2015’s Into Forever. The aptly-titled Salute to the Sun is equally a salute to the free-thinking jazz spirit behind British jazz and the cosmic embrace of Alice Coltrane and Pharaoh Sanders, as each composition inhales and exhales with a deeply-felt sense for bucolic expansiveness. The likes of ‘Joyful Spirits of the Universe’ and the 11-minute title track savour their wistful piano chords, and pepper their atmospheres with classy brass, wandering upright bass and cascading percussion.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Harmony with Nature 9:11 Buy

    Harmony with Nature

  2. 2 Joyful Spirits of the Universe 10:40 Buy

    Joyful Spirits of the Universe

  3. 3 Canopy & Stars 7:51 Buy

    Canopy & Stars

  4. 4 Mindfulness Meditations 2:49 Buy

    Mindfulness Meditations

  5. 5 Tropical Landscapes 8:27 Buy

    Tropical Landscapes

  6. 6 Salute to the Sun 11:01 Buy

    Salute to the Sun

  7. 7 The Energy of Life 7:19 Buy

    The Energy of Life

Matthew Halsall

Gondwana Records

View More


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences