Item added to your cart.

The Avalanches
We Will Always Love You
Virgin EMI
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 11, 2020


On We Will Always Love You, vaunted Australian sampledeliacs The Avalanches take the love affair between the communication scientist Ann Druyan and the astronomer Carl Sagan as their point of inspiration. From here, The Avalanches fashion an ambitious, sweeping statement record, one that sees them focusing a little more on songcraft and the human voice than they did on their previous LPs.

Much like its predecessors Since I Left You and Wildflower, We Will Always Love You locks into a shimmering groove early on and maintains the mood through to the close. We Will Always Love You doesn’t lean quite as heavily on the hip-hop-indebted plunderphonics which have characterised The Avalanches’ previous work, though it is certainly in the mix. Disco, sample-house, folk and psych-pop are all brought into the fold here, with a smattering of short interludes providing the listener with periodic palette-cleansers.

The collaborators list on We Will Always Love You is as adventurous as The Avalanches’ sound - Jamie xx, Rivers Cuomo, Kurt Vile and Neneh Cherry are but a few of the varied names you’ll find passing through the album at various points. The guest vocalists provide The Avalanches with a way of steering the album’s course, helping them shift the feel of the record without losing their core aesthetic of widescreen hypnagogic pop.

Grand, ambitious and filled with star guest spots, We Will Always Love You is as lush and soulful as anything in The Avalanches’ discography - quite a feat, considering the competition.

  1. 1 Interstellar Love ft. Leon Bridges 3:43
  2. 2 Wherever You Go ft. Jamie xx, Neneh Cherry, CLYPSO 5:51
  3. 3 We Will Always Love You (feat. Blood Orange) 3:24

Track List

  1. Ghost Story Featuring – Orono
  2. Song For Barbara Payton
  3. We Will Always Love You Featuring – Blood Orange
  4. The Divine Chord Featuring – Johnny Marr, MGMT
  5. Solitary Ceremonies
  6. Interstellar Love Featuring – Leon Bridges
  7. Ghost Story Pt. 2 Featuring – Leon Bridges, Orono
  8. Reflecting Light Featuring – Sananda Maitreya, Vashti Bunyan
  9. Carrier Waves
  10. Oh The Sunn! Featuring – Perry Farrell
  11. We Go On Featuring – Cola Boyy, Mick Jones
  12. Star Song
  13. Until Daylight Comes Featuring – Tricky
  14. Wherever You Go Featuring – Clypso, Jamie XX, Neneh Cherry
  15. Music Makes Me High
  16. Pink Champagne
  17. Take Care In Your Dreaming Featuring – Denzel Curry, Sampa The Great, Tricky
  18. Overcome Featuring – Kurt Vile
  19. Gold Sky
  20. Always Black Featuring – Pink Siifu
  21. Dial D For Devotion Featuring – Karen O
  22. Running Red Lights Featuring – Pink Siifu, Rivers Cuomo
  23. Born To Lose
  24. Music Is The Light Featuring – Cornelius, Kelly Moran
  25. Weightless
  • We Will Always Love You

  • We Will Always Love You

  • We Will Always Love You

The Avalanches

Virgin EMI

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

Album of the Week

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences