Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Erotiques New Beat
Musique Pour La Danse
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 2, 2020

Press Release

The year is 1989 and it’s the peak of the New Beat craze that swept Europe and the world with Belgium at its epicenter. Not limited to records and clubs, the New Beat lifestyle was marketed to death with all sorts of fashion items, a plethora of accessories and…erotic videos.

Erotica, sensuality, and sexuality have always been part of New Beat’s DNA, but our jaws still dropped to the floor when we first laid eyes upon an erotic New Beat VHS deadstock gathering dust in a forgotten video store in the middle of nowhere in Switzerland.

So we did what every New Beat fan would have done, we watched the video and cringed at its low budget production values while we were transported to 1989 Belgium, with the bodies, poses, styles and backdrops you’d expect from that bygone era.

Our ears, however, were in for a treat. The video’s OST uses almost the very same tracklist as one of the countless New Beat compilations marketed as LPs: King of the Beat, instantly recognizable among many for its yellow front cover featuring a stamp with King Baudoin’s profile.

That record was actually a fake compilation seemingly gathering several artists but in fact entirely composed by the same trio. It offers a lovely snapshot of various moods and styles found within the New Beat genre: downright erotic tracks, proto-Goa numbers, Orientalist takes on exotic sounds, tracks driven by iconic film samples, and tracks built around silly samples, such as an elephant’s trumpet. And then some.

That’s when we decided to reissue this compilation. While many New Beat tracks have been played and compiled to death, there are still brilliant records to rescue from oblivion, and this is one of them.

The entire release has been remastered and will be reissued in LP + digital formats. Liner notes are written by Geert Sermon. And the decidedly tacky front cover is a detail from the VHS original artwork.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Track List

A1. Iconoclass - Tenebra
A2. Corruption House - Dumbo Beat
A3. Axidan - Sahara Moon
A4. Ugly Mood - Tuning Off
A5. Corruption House - Jump
B1. Corruption House - No Doctor No
B2. Acid Aliens - Balearic
B3. Ugly Mood - Consulted Book
B4. Ugly Mood - Words I Up
B5. Acid Aliens - Demons In The Closet

Musique Pour La Danse

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences