Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Spiritual Jazz 12: Impulse!
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 18, 2020


Press Release

In our latest chapter of Spiritual Jazz, we return to the source – the Impulse! label, and the monumental influence of its most prominent artist, John Coltrane. Since the first release in the series back in 2008, we have mapped out the growth of the spiritual sound in jazz. Spiritually energised and politically conscious, the spiritual sound in jazz music is one of the most important currents in the music. Our series has charted the growth of the style from early experiments at Blue Note and Prestige to European excursions, exiled experimentalists, and sounds from across the globe. But whenever you think of spiritual jazz, it's a fair bet that the double exclamation mark and orange and black spine of Impulse quickly comes to mind. Home to John and Alice Coltrane, Pharaoh Sanders, Yusef Lateef, McCoy Tyner and countless other musical pioneers, Impulse! was the most important and forward-thinking jazz label of the 1960s. With the music-first attitude of an independent but the clout of a major, producers Creed Taylor and Bob Thiele made Impulse the defining imprint of a crucial decade. They hand picked the top players of the moment and gave them freedom to record the music they wanted, setting out their stall with a bold slogan – 'The New Wave Of Jazz Is On Impulse!'

Here we dive deep into the Impulse! catalogue, bringing celebrated masterpieces from Alice Coltrane and Pharaoh Sanders into the arena, together with lesser known cuts from Phil Woods and John Klemmer as well as straight-up classics such from Yusef Lateef and Elvin Jones. Fifty years on and the new wave of jazz still sounds fresh, vibrant and as relevant as ever.

Track List

Vinyl Tracklist:

John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Pt 1 - Acknowledgement
Elvin Jones - Fantazm
Max Roach - Lonesome Lover
Yusef Lateef - Sister Mamie

Freddie Hubbard - The 7th Day
McCoy Tyner - Three Flowers

SIDE C Elvin Jones - Half and Half
McCoy Tyner - Groove Waltz
Archie Shepp - Le Matin des Noire

SIDE D Michael White - The Blessing Song Alice Coltrane - Turiya And Ramakrishna
Phil Woods - A Taste of Honey

SIDE E Pharoah Sanders - Hum-Allah-Hum-Allah-Hum-Allah
John Klemmer - Constant Throb Pt 1

SIDE F Pharoah Sanders - Thembi
Marion Brown - Maimoun
Alice Coltrane - Journey in Satchidananda

2CD Tracklist:

  1. John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Pt. I - Acknowledgement
  2. Elvin Jones - Fantazm
  3. Max Roach - Lonesome Lover
  4. Yusef Lateef - Sister Mamie
  5. Freddie Hubbard- The 7th Day
  6. McCoy Tyner - Three Flowers
  7. Elvin Jones - Half And Half
  8. McCoy Tyner - Groove Waltz
  9. Archie Shepp - Le Matin Des Noire
  10. Michael White - The Blessing Song
  11. Alice Coltrane - Turiya And Ramakrishna
  12. Phil Woods - Taste Of Honey
  13. Pharoah Sanders - Hum-Allah-Hum-Allah-Hum-Allah
  14. John Klemmer - Constant Throb Pt. 1
  15. Pharoah Sanders - Thembi
  16. Marion Brown - Maimoun
  17. Alice Coltrane - Journey In Satchidananda


View More


View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences