Item added to your cart.

Cabaret Voltaire
Shadow of Fear
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 20, 2020

Instant download of the following tracks with all pre-orders:

  • 'The Power (Of Their Knowledge)'
  • 'Vasto'

Full release delivered on release date: 11.20.20


A new Cabaret Voltaire studio LP is cause of excitement in and of itself - after all, there have been twenty-six years between this album and its predecessor The Conversation. On Shadow Of Fear, Cabaret Voltaire’s Richard H. Kirk returns to remind people that there is no-one out there that sounds quite like this seminal Sheffield industrial act. Shadow Of Fear summons the dark energy and fearless experimentalism which has always been associated with the Cabaret Voltaire name regardless over the years.

There is a potent mix of sounds to be found on this record. The shadowy atmospheres, dubbed-out textures and generally ominous air which hangs over some of these tracks puts Shadow Of Fear in dialogue with acts who have emerged in Cabaret Voltaire's wake. The record’s driving techno numbers do something similar, forging a link between Kirk’s Roxy Music era Eno influenced experiments in early Cabaret Voltaire, bleep-techno innovations in Sweet Exorcist and post-EBM outfits like Silent Servant and Phase Fatale whilst remaining an alluring fly in the ointment of modern musical innovation. Some tunes also push on into the most vibrant, boundary-pushing end of industrialism - closer ‘What’s Goin’ On’ blends a brassy sample with distorted beats and Kirk’s grinding vocals to land somewhere between This Heat, Andrew Weatherall and Nurse With Wound.

Cabaret Voltaire's victorious return with Shadow Of Fear, the project’s first studio album for twenty-six years and with Richard H Kirk as the sole member. A firm reminder that there is nothing quite like the real thing.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Be Free 6:25
  2. 2 The Power (Of Their Knowledge) 6:30 Buy

    The Power (Of Their Knowledge)

  3. 3 Night Of The Jackal 6:38
  4. 4 Microscopic Flesh Fragment 6:03
  5. 5 Papa Nine Zero Delta United 7:43
  6. 6 Universal Energy 10:58
  7. 7 Vasto 7:40 Buy
  8. 8 What's Goin' On 6:24

Cabaret Voltaire

View More


View More

Minimal Wave and Post-punk

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences