Item added to your cart.

MJ Guider
Sour Cherry Bell
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 18, 2020


Press Release

Melissa Guion’s second offering for Kranky retains the glassy gauze of her debut, 2016’s Precious Systems, but shaded starker and darker, framed by mechanical rhythms and humid industrial moods. She speaks of Sour Cherry Bell as something of a reckoning with her tools of creation: “I was curious to see how far I could go with them, even if that meant reaching the ends of their capacity to do what I wanted. But I never exhausted them and they never exhausted me.” Utilizing her trusted combination of instrumentation, Guion tracked the record between her New Orleans home and rehearsal space, capturing chemistries both intimate and expansive. The songs sway between twilit shoegaze, downer ballads, and gothic pop, mapping a delicate palette of electric melancholies, though in retrospect she cites as her primary muse the notion of power: “lost and found, corporeal and cerebral, harnessed and exploited, of one and many, in this reality and the next.” Sour Cherry Bell reverberates beyond the here and now into scenes unseen, worlds unheard. For Fans Of : Elizabeth Fraser/Julee Cruise/Siouxsie Sioux

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Lowlight MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 2:43 Buy
  2. 2 The Steelyard MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 5:07 Buy
  3. 3 FM Secure MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 4:05 Buy
  4. 4 Cherry Bell Blacktop MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 3:23 Buy

    Cherry Bell Blacktop

  5. 5 Body Optics MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 7:03 Buy
  6. 6 Quiet Time MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 5:23 Buy
  7. 7 Simulus MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 4:51 Buy
  8. 8 Perfect Interference MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 3:11 Buy

    Perfect Interference

  9. 9 Sourbell MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 4:41 Buy
  10. 10 Petrechoria MJ Guider and Melissa Guion 4:38 Buy

Track List

  1. Lowlight
  2. The Steelyard
  3. FM Secure
  4. Cherry Bell Blacktop
  5. Body Optics
  6. Quiet Time
  7. Simulus
  8. Perfect Interference
  9. Sourbell
  10. Petrechoria

MJ Guider


View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences