Item added to your cart.

Norio Hanzawa
Alien Soldier
Data Discs
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 21, 2020
  • Vinyl 2×LP, Limited Coloured


    Opaque grey vinyl

    Read More


    • Remastered double 180g LP cut at 45RPM
    • Audio sourced from the original Japanese console
    • Heavyweight single pocket sleeve with obi strip and foldout poster cover artwork


Press Release

In 1995, at the tail end of the Mega Drive’s lifespan, composer Norio “NON” Hanzawa (Gunstar Heroes) was tasked by acclaimed developer Treasure to score their hugely ambitious new shooter, Alien Soldier. He then duly created one of the most technically impressive, challenging and experimental game scores of the entire 16-bit era. In line with Alien Soldier’s frantic gameplay, Hanzawa’s score is often intense, perplexing and occasionally overwhelming, but it is also punctuated with some surprisingly minimal and inventive synth passages, which at times feel oddly reminiscent of Vangelis’s Blade Runner. However, Hanzawa’s work on Alien Soldier is distinctively his own, harnessing the inherent noise and strange tones of Mega Drive’s FM sound chip to create a score filled with otherworldly sounds, disorientating layers and a sense of complexity seldom heard in game music at the time.

Track List

  1. With Treasure
  2. Sidelimits
  3. Flashback
  4. Alien Soldier
  5. Slap-Up
  6. X-Ages
  7. Runner / AD2025
  8. From Objector
  9. Soltype
  10. Blacksheep
  11. !!!...Shade…
  12. Epsilons-Ally
  13. Silent
  14. Lurk!!!
  15. Perfect-Thing
  16. 3-Prayers
  17. 7th Force
  18. Alone’Z’
  19. Galaxy Desert
  20. Oblivious Past
  21. Soldiers Song
  22. Over!!!

Data Discs

View More


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences