Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Selección Magnética
Sucata Tapes/Discrepant
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 24, 2020

Press Release

Late 20th Century outsider music from the outskirts of Buenos Aires featuring Alan Courtis, Pablo Reche, Quum and many more artists from the Argentinian underground. Setting out as an archaeological excavation, literally exhuming material which has been under the surface for more than two decades, this special compilation features work by established and under the radar artists that helped set the now fertile Argentinian underground. All tracks were directly digitized from the original cassettes masters (half of them never previously released either). The emphasis being to maintain the original sound quality as it was produced at the time (hence the cassette format). The compilation also showcases a broad spectrum style of music that was done at a specific time with very primitive gear - not by choice but because of the obvious economic restrictions of accessing sophisticated equipment forced these musicians on the DIY road. Domestic tape recorders making cassette loops, broken record players, toy keyboards and the noisy ‘fingers on circuitry’ long before Nicolas Collins championed it on Hand-made electronic music. Whilst some artists actually had access to professional synths and drum machines (Unoxuno, Quum, Jaime Genovart), they still lacked of standard recording equipment. A crucial document then showing how their unique approach to music making influenced the forthcoming experimental scene of South America making these artists influential cult figures of the underground. Compiled by Juan José Calarco y Pablo Reche Digitized & Mastered by Juan José Calarco

Track List

a01 UnoxUno - Manifestación en la Superficie
a02 Quum - Persecución
a03 Alan Courtis- Los Fieltros
a04 PabloReche - Residuo
a05 Alfredo Horacio Pérez - Avalokiteshvara I
a06 UnoxUno - Buenos Aires Psicótico
a07 Luis Marte - Simples Máquinas
a08 Quum - Stress
a09 PabloReche - Rompo
a10 Conducto - Círculos
a11 Esófago Zombie - ON-OFF
b01 Las Cintas Magnéticas - Pistas Nro 4 & 8
b02 Zigo - Delureos
b03 Conducto - Malla
b04 La Espora Invasora - Comegato
b05 Jaime Genovart - Querandíes
b06 Francisco Ali-Brouchoud - Bashō

Sucata Tapes/Discrepant

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences