Item added to your cart.

Marco Weibel
Various Channels Vol. 1: NYC
Darker Than Wax
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 24, 2020

Press Release

OVERVIEW: Various Channels is a new series within the Darker Than Wax catalogue - a selector-led compilation series that pushes diversity in sound while also encapsulating a common connection of what brings people together. For the first volume, it’s all about location. Deeply inspired by the new wave of creative energy in New York City, the label is proud to present ‘Various Channels Vol. 1 : NYC’ - a compilation highlighting key artists at the forefront of NYC’s blooming music ecosystem, curated by selector Marco Weibel. While Darker Than Wax was born in Singapore, our satellite (or second) home is NYC.

A key figure behind Darker Than Wax since its early days, Marco moved to NYC in 2014, and has continued to establish a humble presence for the label through his tireless work as a DJ, Curator, Promoter & Radio Host. Within 6 years, Marco has seen New York’s underground grow through artists’ continual efforts to push the envelope and blur the lines between sounds. Thanks in part to uncompromising venues and community spaces such as The Lot Radio in Brooklyn (where Marco is running our weekly radio show alongside label peer Mawkus), a fresh crop of producers and DJs are elevating the music of NYC.

This compilation serves as a snapshot of this moment in time, spotlighting select artists making waves - including Jitwam, James Tillman, Toribio, Ensemble Entendu, David Marston and Tristan Arp. This project is also personal to Marco’s experience of digging deep into the city and connecting with kindred spirits, the selections reflecting the creative energy of his close musical family, who traverse eclectic sound spectrums from R&B/Soul, Balearic Grooves, House, Broken Beat and beyond.

  • A new selector-led compilation series Showcasing the new wave of creative energy from New York City.
  • Featuring new tracks from Jitwam, James Tillman, David Marston and more.
  • Compiled by the label’s very own NYC based DJ, curator and radio host Marco Weibel.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Arizona James Tillman 4:13 Buy
  2. 2 Mercury in Retrograde David Marston feat. Jitwam & Aquiles Navarro 3:03 Buy

    Mercury in Retrograde

  3. 3 Well, Why Not Ensemble Entendu 5:36 Buy
  4. 4 Back to My Place Jitwam 4:05 Buy

    Back to My Place

  5. 5 Swett Toribio 5:34 Buy
  6. 6 Reflex Tristan Arp 2:43 Buy

Track List

  1. James Tillman - Arizona
  2. David Marston - Mercury In Retrograde (ft. Jitwam & Aquiles Navarro) 3.Ensemble Entendu - Well, Why Not
  3. Jitwam - Back To My Place
  4. Toribio - Swett
  5. Tristan Arp - Reflex

Marco Weibel

Darker Than Wax

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences