Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
REITEN presents ENSō 2020
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 24, 2020


Press Release

Japanese sound artist and producer Kosei Fukuda’s presents a collaborated vision of the first edition of ENSō, a two-day audio-visual event collated around the REITEN label. The ENSō Festival invites its artists and audiences alike to appreciate the merging of the improvisational, with the contemplation of rhythmic cycles, based around the conception of ensō – 円相 – meaning a hand-drawn circle created by one uninterrupted stroke. Now, with an elongated stretch of time in front of us before the next edition of the festival, the compilation stands to provide a sustained glimpse into the world imagined by Fukuda. Blending spontaneity and gravity alike, the record features an array of idiosyncratic artists set to play ENSō, all purveyors of their own shaped sound-worlds.

For the A-side, we have Fukada’s own contribution ‘円窓 – ENSō’; a slice of ambient techno dotted somewhere within a faraway galaxy. Venezuelan noise artist UCHI crafts a fourth-world hymn with tribal percussion on the expansive ‘ZRO’, and Osaka based experimentalist YPY aka Korshiro Hino shapes an elusive polyrhythmic ambience on ‘Circulation’. The B-side presents a colossal improvisational track ‘My Default Emotion’ from Berlin based duo Recent Arts. Formed of Chilean artist Valentina Berthelon and German musician Tobias Freund, the duo are masters in audio-visual experimental performances that both surprise and challenge an audience. Renowned artist, programmer and teacher Renick Bell is noted as a pioneer for live coded performance, conducting mutated rhythms that cut across the landscape of electronic sound. His addition to the compilation is a luminescent IDM piece, titled ‘Organize and Unite’. A polished ambient club track from Fukada and MA titled ‘円相ノ間(ふるつき)’ provides a state of organized tranquility, whilst the track ‘The Chosen Home’ from Belgium artist YvesDeMay, whose move from breakbeat to experimental producer has produced gratifying results for all, is a welcome slice of pensive dub- techno. The C-side brings us a textured and haunting techno track ‘He Turned Into Him’ with revered German artist Tobias, veteran mainstay with an expert hand in shimmering sound design; Kyoto based 10 Label heads Katsunori Sawa and Yuji Kondo brings sample-heavy rushes of sound, the former with ‘The Stonewall’ and the latter with ‘Zenith’, both multi-faceted in their reference points. The D-Side presents the grainy and expansive ‘Circle’ from Lebanese producer Rabih Beaini, who expertly combines club tropes and avant-gardism in his DJing and music. Hypnotic skeletal beats circulate on the pulsating ‘42.1’ by Tokyo artist ENA. Japanese composer Lemna, the alias of Maiko Okimoto rounds it off with a dreamy noise ambience on ‘Moments In Eternal Recurrence’.

  1. 1 円窓 - ENSō Kosei Fukuda 2:00
  2. 2 Zro Uchi 2:00
  3. 3 Circulation YPY 2:00
  4. 4 My Default Emotion Recent Arts 2:00
  5. 5 Organize And Unite Renick Bell 2:00


Side 1:

  1. Kosei Fukuda - 円窓 - ENSō (4:18)
  2. Uchi - Zro (6:42)
  3. YPY - Circulation (6:44)

Side 2:

  1. Recent Arts - My Default Emotion (5:43)
  2. Renick Bell - Organize And Unite (4:09)
  3. MA + Kosei Fukuda - 円相ノ間(ふるつき)- ENSō no MA (FURUTSUKI) (1:30)
  4. YvesDeMey - The Chosen Home (6:11)

Side 3:

  1. Tobias. - He Turned Into Him (5:52)
  2. Katsunori Sawa - The Stonewall (5:21)
  3. Yuji Kondo - Zenith (6:09)

Side 4:

  1. Rabih Beaini - Circle (8:03)
  2. ENA - 42.1 (4:36)
  3. Lemna - Moments In Eternal Recurrence (5:00)


Electronic and Electronica

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences