Item added to your cart.

Sufjan Stevens
The Ascension
Asthmatic Kitty
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 25, 2020


In the five years since the tearful odes of Carrie & Lowell, Sufjan Stevens has been rediscovering his electronic proclivities. The Ascension is a culmination of those excursions, executed with dense, shimmering production and an all-together pop sensibility. Billed as an upbeat LP for a humanity in crisis mode, the LP contains some of Stevens’ catchiest tunes. ‘Sugar’ and ‘Video Game’ bop like indie pop takes on a Drake song, complete with technicolour instrumentation and a twang of melancholia, as the mammoth-sized ‘America’ contains resonances of Stevens’ finest epic closing tracks; full of quotable lyrics and shuttering electronic rhythms.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse 5:19 Buy

    Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse

  2. 2 Run Away With Me 4:07 Buy

    Run Away With Me

  3. 3 Video Game 4:16 Buy
  4. 4 Lamentations 3:42 Buy
  5. 5 Tell Me You Love Me 4:22 Buy

    Tell Me You Love Me

  6. 6 Die Happy 5:47 Buy
  7. 7 Ativan 6:32 Buy
  8. 8 Ursa Major 3:43 Buy
  9. 9 Landslide 5:04 Buy
  10. 10 Gilgamesh 3:50 Buy
  11. 11 Death Star 4:04 Buy
  12. 12 Goodbye To All That 3:48 Buy

    Goodbye To All That

  13. 13 Sugar 7:37 Buy
  14. 14 The Ascension 5:56 Buy
  15. 15 America 12:30 Buy

Track List

  1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
  2. Run Away With Me
  3. Video Game
  4. Lamentations
  5. Tell Me You Love Me
  6. Die Happy
  7. Ativan
  8. Ursa Major
  9. Landslide
  10. Gilgamesh
  11. Death Star
  12. Goodbye To All That
  13. Sugar
  14. The Ascension
  15. America

Sufjan Stevens

View More

Asthmatic Kitty

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences