Item added to your cart.

Black Focus Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 31, 2020

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl purchases.


Swarvy’s Sunny Days Blue EP is a gorgeous collection of smoky, jazz-tinged ballads and beats from the Philadelphia-based musician. While an air of hazy wistfulness is maintained throughout these tracks, stylistically the record shifts subtly as it winds its way forward. Cuts such as ‘COOL’ and ‘NO COMPUTE’ are beautifully low-lit pieces of bedroom soul, the vibe pitched somewhere between Archy Marshall’s A New Place 2 Drown and BADBADNOTGOOD in ‘Time Moves Slow’ mode. On the beat-free numbers the lightness of Swarvy’s music allows his textures to drift off into the atmosphere - there is an impressionistic, almost new-age-esque quality about the tinkling ambiences of ‘LEMONGRASS’ and ‘GiNGER’ which owes something to Laraaji. The soulful sighs of ‘NEW MOON’ and ‘BONES’ occupy a middle-ground between these two sounds, further solidifying the aesthetic of the EP.

Sunny Days Blue represents two firsts for Swarvy - it is both his debut solo release for Kamaal Williams’ Black Focus label and also the first record Swarvy has been involved in where he is the primary vocalist. Swarvy rises to the challenge of leading through singing with great grace here, the breathy and intimate qualities of his voice invoking Maxwell, The xx and Galcher Lustwerk.

Instrumentalist/producer Swarvy debuts on Kamaal Williams’ Black Focus Records with Sunny Days Blue, a tender and beautiful EP of bedroom-soul joints.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 BONES 3:04 Buy
  2. 2 COOL 3:02 Buy
  3. 3 NO COMPUTE 3:10 Buy
  4. 4 LEMONGRASS 1:30 Buy
  5. 5 SMiLE 3:25 Buy
  6. 6 NEW MOON 4:13 Buy
  7. 7 GiNGER 3:33 Buy


Black Focus Records

View More


View More


View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences