Item added to your cart.

Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 24, 2020
  • Bundle

    Read More


    • Limited to 100 copies
    • Velvet pouch
    • USB Drive with album in WAV / FLAC / MP3
    • Numbered and autographed insert with poem
    • Multi-sided dice
    • Enamel pin

The press release for XNX’s new LP Farewell states that this is ‘the album that he would like to be remembered by’. Coming from a producer who has already released the hugely impressive experimental ambient albums Music For Spas and Soundtrack For A Life Unexpected, this is quite a claim. Nevertheless, Farewell certainly has the scope, scale and emotional weight to become XNX’s most beloved work.

Much like those aforementioned records, Farewell takes us on a journey through a low-lit sonic netherworld, one where dark ambiences rub up against the hissing, humid soundscapes of Rainforest Spiritual Enslavement. Sometimes the pads and drones pare back to create a sort of reserved, mournful take on bvdub’s washes of sound, but at other points - ‘Eye Of The Beholder’, ‘The Wormhole’ - the textures coagulate into thronged hums that sounds like William Basinski’s music as recreated by extraterrestrials.

Much of Farewell drifts through this shadowy sonic terrain, as if XNX is guiding the listener on a boat to Hades. However, there are points where the producer provides something more concrete - rhythmic loops anchor ‘In The Click Of Time’ and ‘Reality Check’ while the etherised vocals on the album’s title-track recall Grouper. Then there’s ‘wannabeyourswannabemine’, a track in which a spoken word incantation, a greyscale synthetic fog and a soft drum pulse combine to chilling effect.

In his new LP Farewell, XNX has made a potentially career-defining set of dark ambient music.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 The Dreamer XNX 6:55 Buy
  2. 2 Last Breath XNX 7:59 Buy
  3. 3 In the Click of Time XNX 6:41 Buy
  4. 4 The Angel that was not There XNX 8:14 Buy
  5. 5 Farewell XNX 6:50 Buy
  6. 6 Eye of the Beholder XNX 7:13 Buy
  7. 7 The Railroad XNX 1:06 Buy
  8. 8 Persisten Endeavor XNX 8:00 Buy
  9. 9 Reality Check XNX 8:55 Buy
  10. 10 The Wormhole XNX 4:18 Buy
  11. 11 Wannabeyourswannabemine XNX 2:57 Buy
  12. 12 Under the Light of the Moon XNX 8:00 Buy
  13. 13 Atmosphere Redux XNX 6:00 Buy

1 – The Dreamer
2 – Last Breath
3 – In the Click of Time
4 – The Angel That Was Not There
5 – Farewell
6 – Eye Of The Beholder
7 – The Railroad
8 – Persistent Endeavor
9 – Reality Check
10 – The Wormhole
11 – Wannabeyourswannabemine
12 – Under The Light Of The Moon
13 – Atmosphere Redux



--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences