Item added to your cart.

Nils Frahm
Erased Tapes
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 28, 2020


During a time of unprecedented global upheaval — and the lengthy process of healing a broken thumb — ambient composer Nils Frahm quietly drops a follow-up to Screws. Originally conceived as the score to a short film by Benoît Toulemonde, Empty takes a similarly simple approach to its central instrument, the piano, with a soft focus on the soothing sounds of its timbric intimacy. Notes ring out into timeless suspension on ‘First Defeat’ and ‘A Shine’, while a gentle flurry of arpeggiated tones sweep their way across ‘No Step on Wing’, backdropped by the warm, material ambience of creaking pedals and piano keys.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 First Defeat 3:15 Buy
  2. 2 A Shine 4:15 Buy
  3. 3 No Step on Wing 4:47 Buy

    No Step on Wing

  4. 4 The Big O 4:32 Buy
  5. 5 Second Defeat 2:08 Buy
  6. 6 A Shimmer 6:37 Buy
  7. 7 Sonar 3:49 Buy
  8. 8 Black Notes 6:26 Buy

Track List

  1. First Defeat
  2. A Shine
  3. No Step On A Wing
  4. The Big O
  5. Second Defeat
  6. A Shimmer
  7. Sonar
  8. Black Notes

Nils Frahm

View More

Erased Tapes

View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences