Item added to your cart.

DVTT Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 1, 2020

London experimental art-rock outfit MOHIT have announced their forthcoming debut album ‘Preface’, produced by Marta Salogni (Björk, Liars, The Orielles, Alex Cameron etc) and due for release 1st May. Shortly after releasing a limited 7” single in late 2018 and a second 7” in July 2019, the progressive trio toured in the UK with Ought and Omni. They now return with their first full length, an intriguing and transcendental body of work, that takes as much influence from the concept of musical and artistic connection between humans as it does the music and art itself.

Originally formed by Toby Baxter (Guitar/Vocals) and Danny Brooks (Drums/Vocals), and later joined by Jack Daley (Bass), the band honed their expansive sound in London after migrating from the seaside town of Bognor Regis. Their musical influences range from the prog elements of My Bloody Valentine and Broadcast to the dramatism of 19th century composers such as Eric Satie, Wagner, Mahler and Liszt. ‘Preface’ is an example of how MOHIT expertly collage different concepts together to create a whole.

A deeply personal sonic exploration, the 9 tracks that make up ‘Preface’ were borne out of improvisation sessions and a shared need to create something that was both outwardly challenging yet intimate and meditative.

Previous single Yoghurt showcases the raw talent and connection present from the band’s very inception – it being the first track of the album they recorded together. Many of the avenues explored in other songs on ‘Preface’ are present in this piece; the use of loops, beat-lead sections, evocative harmonies and sonic landscapes, stretching to the most intense moments. Elsewhere on the record, Reggaeezer is a song of two halves, written during an impromptu session in Whitechapel where the band were joined by a local homeless man named Marky Mark. “His lyric, “Stand alone, on my own” speaks of his life on the streets, and the melody manifests his courageous optimism.

An emblem of song creation through improvised moments, ‘Steady Evil’ showcases the trio interacting with their more vulnerable side. Lyrically connecting mindless media consumption (going down a YouTube tunnel in a daze of non-eventual monotony), the song’s sonic palette drifts through lethargic spaces to mimic the sentiment.

Marta Salogni’s vocals feature on I Would Never Wash My Hair in That (Water), a song that transforms from humble beginnings, peppered by coy irony, into a wet atmospheric ending. Meanwhile, forthcoming single Infinite Decay came about after a strange and rather mystical encounter in Wales.

The 3 year period taken to put together the album allowed the band to gain a sophistication within the creative process, allowing them to express their individual mental states within their work. In this way the songs are formed from the collaboration of the personalities of each band member, and the album acts as a journal of their individual and collective growth over this period.

Press and radio support from BBC 6Music, Amazing Radio, The I Newspaper, The 405, Louder Than War, Circuit Sweet, Gigsoup, Pirate Studios, God Is In The TV, and more.

  1. Racek
  2. Ffion
  3. Discover Another.
  4. Reggaeezer.
  5. Steady Evil.
  6. (I Would Never Wash My Hair In That) Water.
  7. Yoghurt.
  8. Infinite Decay.
  9. Hiccups.wav
  • Preface


--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences