Item added to your cart.

Gift This Product

For the first release on their new reissues-focussed sub-label Ice Machine, Suction Records look backwards - both into their own history and that of minimal synth music more generally. You see, Suction previously put out an edition of Ceramic Hello’s 1981 LP The Absence Of A Canary back in 2002, but so vital a record is this that they’ve decided the album deserved a second pressing. The Absence Of A Canary is an underground classic of synthetic wave music, its lengthier tunes presenting a cold, calculated strangeness derived from Ultravox and Bauhaus while the album’s more cerebral interludes unfurl with the classical grace of Wendy Carlos. Ceramic Hello’s Brett Wickens may now be best-known as the man behind some of the iconic Factory Records sleeves, but The Absence Of A Canary is proof that his musical output is an equally crucial part of the post-punk story.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 The Diesquad Ceramic Hello 4:02 Buy
  2. 2 Im / Ex Ceramic Hello 0:30 Buy
  3. 3 Climatic Nouveaux Ceramic Hello 4:01 Buy
  4. 4 Conversation Between Units Ceramic Hello 0:35 Buy
  5. 5 Geometry Ceramic Hello 7:27 Buy
  6. 6 StatiCarnival Ceramic Hello 1:21 Buy
  7. 7 Symphony of Shudders Ceramic Hello 2:25 Buy
  8. 8 A Grey Man Ceramic Hello 2:02 Buy
  9. 9 Footsteps in the Fog Ceramic Hello 4:02 Buy
  10. 10 Ringing in the Sane Ceramic Hello 3:01 Buy
  11. 11 Trio Ceramic Hello 1:20 Buy
  12. 12 Gestures Ceramic Hello 3:34 Buy
  13. 13 Little Tune (warlike) Ceramic Hello 2:06 Buy
  14. 14 Dig That Crazy Beat Ceramic Hello 0:40 Buy

Minimal Wave and Post-punk

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.