Item added to your cart.

Leaving Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 24, 2020


Zeroh’s BLQLYTE is one of those albums that pushes at the very edges of hip-hop and R&B. The artists that come to mind when listening to this strange, incantatory, often rather unsettling album are those who operate at the extreme fringes of genre - Moor Mother, clipping., Shabazz Palaces.

Sounds fight for breath on BLQLYTE, with beats pushing to the front of the mix as if emerging from a swamp before they are dragged back into the depths a couple of minutes later. Tracks bleed into one another and conventional structures done away with in favour of impressionistic, abstract ruminations. Be his vocals sung, rapped or spoken, it’s unclear if Zeroh is dictating proceedings here or struggling against them. See how he and Busdriver at once resist the evil that lurks in ‘Metacine’ and yet submit to it, the haze of harp and granular synthesis twisting up their voices into something monstrous.

The soupy fog of noises that pass for instrumentals on BLQLYTE are spun in many different directions across the record. On the album’s eponymous opening track we find a tense, abstracted version of something you might find on a MHYSA record; there’s some Yeezus in ‘JAADE’; ‘TRUE 7’, the track that rounds out BLQLYTE on the digital edition that is exclusive to Bleep, rises with the playful flamboyance of serpentwithfeet or Bat For Lashes.

On BLQLYTE, his first LP for Leaving Records, Zeroh comes through with a murky, moody and ultra-leftfield set which defies easy categorisation.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 BLQLYTE Zeroh 3:00 Buy
  2. 2 Rites of Passage Zeroh 1:19 Buy
  3. 3 Metacine Zeroh 2:51 Buy
  4. 4 Hydro Zeroh 3:34 Buy
  5. 5 The Fade Zeroh 2:02 Buy
  6. 6 You Can't Unsee It Zeroh 0:49 Buy
  7. 7 4D Zeroh 4:06 Buy
  8. 8 The Lord & Nature Zeroh 4:12 Buy
  9. 9 Mudblood Zeroh 2:05 Buy
  10. 10 Sworn Free Zeroh 3:57 Buy
  11. 11 Invaluable Zeroh 2:07 Buy
  12. 12 Glory Drip Zeroh 4:15 Buy
  13. 13 JAADE Zeroh 3:49 Buy
  14. 14 Aquamane Zeroh 3:27 Buy
  15. 15 TRUE 7 - Bleep Digital Exclusive Zeroh 2:23 Buy


Leaving Records

View More

Hip Hop

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences