Item added to your cart.

Tara Clerkin Trio
Tara Clerkin Trio
Laura Lies In
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 24, 2020
  • Vinyl, 1×LP


    Includes locked groove on B side

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Repress
    • Double sided insert featuring lyrics and artwork

    Released: May 8, 2020
    In stock, shipping now.

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl purchases.


Bristolians among you may well recognise the members of Tara Clerkin Trio. Sunny-Joe Paradisos, Patrick Benjamin and Clerkin herself have been moving through Bristol’s experimental music scenes for several years now, and Clerkin released the album Hello through the city's Stolen Body Records (Repo Man, Peace And Love Barbershop Muhammad Ali) back in 2017. Now the three have united for their debut record as Tara Clerkin Trio, a set of unusual and charming songs.

Throughout this album, Tara Clerkin Trio create a variety of whimsical soundscapes. The group cover a lot of sonic territory here - acid jazz, off-kilter psych-pop, avant-garde songcraft and atmospheric dubwise experiments in the African Head Charge mould can all be found across these seven tracks. All styles are approached with a quiet and disarming guile which reminds us of Micachu And The Shapes.

There are echoes of London's jazz explosion to Tara Clerkin Trio that go beyond their name. However, rather than the slick proficiency displayed by much of the music that comes out of the scene, this record is more esoteric. Indeed, the soporific closing-time sound of a track like ‘Gold Bar’ recalls the knowing post-jazz experiments of the Lounge Lizards. At other points we find the wind instruments that the group otherwise use in the jazzier tracks deployed to alternate ends - on closer ‘There Will Be Time’ clarinets are arranged into painterly patterns in a manner reminiscent of golden-age Steve Reich and Arthur Russell in ‘Tower Of Meaning’ mode.

Released via Laura Lies In (Stine Janvin, CVX), the eponymous debut LP from West Country crew Tara Clerkin Trio is an unusual record that is all the more charming for its idiosyncrasies.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 What Tara Clerkin Trio 2:53 Buy
  2. 2 In The Room Tara Clerkin Trio 5:52 Buy
  3. 3 Hellenica Tara Clerkin Trio 6:07 Buy
  4. 4 I Know He Will Tara Clerkin Trio 4:06 Buy
  5. 5 Gold Bar Tara Clerkin Trio 5:02 Buy
  6. 6 Any Of These Tara Clerkin Trio 8:00 Buy
  7. 7 There Will Be Time Tara Clerkin Trio 4:45 Buy

Laura Lies In

Alternative and Indie

View More

Experimental Pop and New Wave

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences