Item added to your cart.

Gift This Product

Instant download of the following tracks with all pre-orders:

  • 'Heading To Glory'
  • 'Pursuit'
  • 'One Destination'
  • 'No, Don't Follow Fashion'
  • 'Animal Law'
  • 'Learning'
  • 'Fever Pitch'
  • 'Somebody Touch I'

Full release delivered on release date: 03.06.20

While it may have started largely as a studio project led by Adrian Sherwood, African Head Charge had become a fully collaborative endeavour by the time of 1990’s definitive Songs Of Praise LP due to the increasing prominence of the percussion and vocals of Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah. This proved to be a good thing - many consider Songs Of Praise to be among the band’s finest work - and three years later the pair combined to great effect once more on In Pursuit Of Shashamane Land.

This record contained some of the group’s most vibrant music to date, with Noah coaxing out some shards of light from Sherwood’s previously rather murky aesthetic. While some of these tracks spiral off into the cosmos in much the same way as Sherwood’s early dub experiments, there are also moments here that draw on the rhythmic drive of 80s no-wave groups like Liquid Liquid and Guerilla Welfare. Brian Eno and David Byrne’s ‘My Life in the Bush of Ghosts’, a key record in the African Head Charge story, also makes its presence felt.

This new edition of In Pursuit Of Shashamane Land unites the original track-listing with eight bonus cuts including two long-lost cousins - namely ‘Mama Shante Garden’ and ‘Run Come See Me’, tunes which were included on a bonus 7-inch that was given away with a thousand pressings of In Pursuit Of Shashamane Land when it first emerged in 1993. The LP comes with a 24” x 12” poster, photographs of the group and an excerpt from a five part interview with Noah.

African Head Charge’s 1993 LP In Pursuit Of Shashamane Land, a masterpiece in dubwise sonics and sample art, gets a souped-up reissue through On-U Sound.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Heading To Glory African Head Charge 4:35 Buy
  2. 2 Pursuit African Head Charge 3:53 Buy
  3. 3 One Destination African Head Charge 3:33 Buy
  4. 4 No, Don't Follow Fashion African Head Charge 6:15 Buy
  5. 5 Animal Law African Head Charge 5:29 Buy
  6. 6 Learning African Head Charge 6:17 Buy
  7. 7 Fever Pitch African Head Charge 4:55 Buy
  8. 8 Somebody Touch I African Head Charge 3:30 Buy
  9. 9 Fever Pitch (Raw Cut) African Head Charge 4:56
  10. 10 Pursuit (Underpulse Motion Dj Edit) African Head Charge 5:05
Show All Tracks 16

African Head Charge

On-U Sound

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.