Item added to your cart.

City Slang
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 28, 2020


After releasing the Our Love LP in 2014, Dan Snaith largely shelved his Caribou project and spent the rest of the 2010s concentrating on his output as Daphni. Suddenly, the new Caribou LP, finds Snaith returning to the name under which he first found fame.

Since starting up the more dancefloor-orientated Daphni, Snaith has increasingly used Caribou releases as spaces in which to try out new styles and go deeper on his songcraft. This trend continues on Suddenly, arguably Snaith’s most sonically adventurous and stylistically varied album. Snaith has often been likened to Arthur Russell, but rarely have such comparisons felt more apt than on Suddenly’s opening track ‘Sister’, a spare number in which he coos softly atop aquatic synth sounds. This vibe is maintained on the following number ‘You And I’, its lilting drums and keys invoking Russell’s Calling Out Of Context.

Another point of comparison across Suddenly is Gold Panda’s sampledelic beat tracks. This style can be detected at work on ‘Sunny’s Time’ - surely the first Caribou number that nods to trap - as well as ‘Home’, ‘Lime’ and Suddenly’s eponymous tune. It’s there in ‘Like I Loved You’ too, though the song’s spooling-thread guitar runs and ethereal vocals also have a fair bit of Jai Paul about them. With Snaith clearly stretching his artistic legs across the course of the album you might not expect him to find time to create organic house numbers in the ‘Sun’/‘Can’t Do Without You’ vein. However, he does deliver a couple of these in the album’s second half, with ‘Never Come Back’ and ‘Ravi’ both shuffling dancefloor delights.

Suddenly … there was a new Caribou album! The project’s first LP in six years is full of vigour, with Dan Snaith incorporating a wide array of genres into his typically tender writing style here.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Sister 2:11 Buy


  2. 2 You and I 4:03 Buy

    You and I

  3. 3 Sunny's Time 2:49 Buy

    Sunny's Time

  4. 4 New Jade 3:37 Buy

    New Jade

  5. 5 Home 2:36 Buy


  6. 6 Lime 2:55 Buy


  7. 7 Never Come Back 5:05 Buy

    Never Come Back

  8. 8 Filtered Grand Piano 0:53 Buy

    Filtered Grand Piano

  9. 9 Like I Loved You 4:05 Buy

    Like I Loved You

  10. 10 Magpie 3:55 Buy


  11. 11 Ravi 4:29 Buy


  12. 12 Cloud Song 6:50 Buy

    Cloud Song


1 Sister
2 You and I
3 Sunny's Time
4 New Jade
5 Home
6 Lime
7 Never Come Back
8 Filtered Grand Piano
9 Like I Loved You
10 Magpie
11 Ravi
12 Cloud Song

A1. Sister
A2. You and I
A3. Sunny's Time
A4. New Jade
A5. Home
A6. Lime
A7. Never Come Back Side
B1. Filtered Grand Piano
B2. Like I Loved You
B3. Magpie
B4. Ravi
B5. Cloud Son


View More


City Slang

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More


Album of the Week

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences