Item added to your cart.

Bill Fay
Countless Branches
Dead Oceans
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 17, 2020


This is the third, and best, album from the celebrated second phase of Bill Fay’s career.

A broader, multiple track promo campaign with a number of press features will lead into release.

Vocal and enthusiastic fans include Nick Cave, The War on Drugs, Oneohtrixpointnever, Kevin Morby, Wilco, and many more.

Bill Fay returns with the third album in the celebrated second phase of his recording career. A prime Fay song is a deceptively simple thing which carries more emotional weight than its concision and brevity might imply. There are ten of these musical haikus on Countless Branches, as pointed and as poignant as anything he’s ever recorded.

For decades now - it’s almost 50 years since he cut his classic albums “Bill Fay” and “Time of the Last Persecution” - songs like these have been Fay’s ambassadors helping rave reviews and endorsements from the likes of Jim O’Rourke (Tortoise) and Jeff Tweedy (Wilco) which led to a huge revival of interest in his music. He had continued to make music almost every day in the intervening decades. For Countless Branches he’s completed new toplines over some of his cache of backing tracks, most of them 20 to 40 years old.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 In Human Hands 2:19 Buy

    In Human Hands

  2. 2 How Long, How Long 2:43 Buy

    How Long, How Long

  3. 3 Your Little Face 2:44 Buy

    Your Little Face

  4. 4 Salt Of The Earth 3:39 Buy

    Salt Of The Earth

  5. 5 I Will Remain Here 2:06 Buy

    I Will Remain Here

  6. 6 Filled With Wonder Once Again 3:07 Buy

    Filled With Wonder Once Again

  7. 7 Time's Going Somewhere 2:42 Buy

    Time's Going Somewhere

  8. 8 Love Will Remain 2:24 Buy

    Love Will Remain

  9. 9 Countless Branches 2:20 Buy

    Countless Branches

  10. 10 One Life 2:47 Buy
Show All Tracks 17

Side A (14 mins)

  1. In Human Hands (2:20)

  2. How Long, How Long (2:43)

  3. Your Little Face (2:45)

  4. Salt Of The Earth (3:39)

  5. I Will Remain Here (2:06)

SIDE B (14 mins)

  1. Filled With Wonder Once Again (3:07)

  2. Time’s Going Somewhere (2:43)

  3. Love Will Remain (2:25)

  4. Countless Branches (2:20)

  5. One Life (2:48)

Deluxe LP - Side C (11 mins)

  1. Tiny - Bonus Track (2:57)

  2. Don’t Let My Marigolds Die (Live in Studio) - Bonus Track (2:17)

  3. The Rooster - Bonus Track (3:16)

  4. Your Little Face (Acoustic Version) - Bonus Track (2:19)

Deluxe LP - Side D (10 mins)

  1. Filled With Wonder Once Again (Band Version) - Bonus Track (4:19)

  2. How Long, How Long (Band Version) - Bonus Track (2:44)

  3. Love Will Remain (Band Version) - Bonus Track (2:38)

Bill Fay

Dead Oceans

View More

Alternative and Indie

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences