Item added to your cart.

Break A Code
Break A Code
Breakin Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 2004
Gift This Product

Japan has a long and golden tradition of producing very fine electronic artists, and the scene today is represented by a wide variety of musicians using machines and computers for entirely different ends.

Tokyo's Afropolice, whose new album 'Breakacode' is released on Ed DMX's Breakin' Records imprint, are definitely descended from the school of Japanese pop / dance music most famously represented by the Yellow Magic Orchestra, and there is precious little sign of the raging electronic storms and distortions of artists such as Merzbow on their album. All 10 tracks are in the mould of classic Drexciyan techno, and the influence is evident even from the track titles ('Mars Session', 'Ocean Depth Adventure'). However, this album is far from a mere tribute to the late great James Stinson, and by drawing on their own sources of inspiration and musical creativity, Afropolice create a highly enjoyable sound.

The cover-art might be weak, and the name of the band could be considered appalling - but this is a solid, fun slice of electro techno, and well worth a purchase for fans of 'Elektroids' and the adventures of Drexciya.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Power From Afropolice 6:01 Buy
  2. 2 R Trick Afropolice 3:10 Buy
  3. 3 Morsecatcher Afropolice 3:20 Buy
  4. 4 M.F.A Afropolice 4:21 Buy
  5. 5 Mars Session Afropolice 3:58 Buy
  6. 6 Ocean Depth Adventure Afropolice 4:08 Buy
  7. 7 Nightjar Afropolice 3:05 Buy
  8. 8 Jazzy Journey Afropolice 3:00 Buy
  9. 9 Afro Generator Afropolice 3:59 Buy
  10. 10 Shadow Wheel Afropolice 4:29 Buy

Breakin Records

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.