Item added to your cart.

Margerine Eclipse (Expanded Edition)
Duophonic / Warp Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 29, 2019
  • Vinyl, 3×LP

    Sale $29.99 $26.99
    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Black Vinyl
    • Remastered from original tapes
    • Bonus disk of rare EP tracks
    • Fold-out poster insert
    • Gatefold sleeve
    • Heavyweight clear PVC Wallet
    • Download card

    In stock, shipping now.
    Shipping from United States of America.

  • CD, 2×CD

    Sale $17.99 $14.39
    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Remastered from original tapes
    • Bonus disk
    • 8 page booklet

    In stock, shipping now.
    Shipping from United States of America.

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Stereolab’s 2004 LP Margerine Eclipse may not be the group’s most famous work, but it has a good claim to being one of their best. The band’s eighth studio album, Margerine Eclipse saw Stereolab somewhat rein in the avant-gardisms they’d toyed with on records such as Cobra And Phases Group Play Voltage In The Milky Night. Taken in tandem with revisiting their early penchant for quirky, fuzzy pseudo-rock (‘Margerine Rock’, ‘Bop Scotch’) and incorporating new influences like dub and groovy post-punk, Margerine Eclipse is sort of like Stereolab’s whole aesthetic in miniature. The album was also the first full-length record that Stereolab released after the death of member Mary Hansen - a matter tackled by the band on the dreamy, swelling ‘Feel And Triple’.

For this deluxe new edition of the album, Warp and Duophonic pair Margerine Eclipse with Stereolab’s 2003 EP Instant 0 In The Universe and a selection of rare bonus cuts. Both that EP and Margerine Eclipse were released in ‘dual mono’ - a production technique that means each instrument is panned to one side of the monitors in a manner not dissimilar to some of George Martin’s work with The Beatles - an effect which gives the records a unique feel. As with Warp and Duophonic’s other recent Stereolab reissues, this version of Margerine Eclipse has also been remastered from the original tapes.

The huge amount of great music made by Stereolab means that albums like Margerine Eclipse can go under the radar. Augmented by some choice additional cuts, this new edition of Margerine Eclipse aims to redress the balance.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Vonal Declosion Stereolab 4:41 Buy
  2. 2 Need To Be Stereolab 4:50 Buy
  3. 3 Sudden Stars (EP Version) Stereolab 4:41 Buy
  4. 4 Cosmic Country Noir Stereolab 4:47 Buy
  5. 5 La Demeure Stereolab 4:37 Buy
  6. 6 Margerine Rock Stereolab 2:55 Buy
  7. 7 The Man With 100 Cells Stereolab 3:47 Buy
  8. 8 Margerine Melodie Stereolab 6:19 Buy
  9. 9 Hillbilly Motobike Stereolab 4:51 Buy
  10. 10 Feel And Triple Stereolab 4:53 Buy
Show All Tracks 20


View More

Alternative and Indie

View More


View More

Vinyl Reissue

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences