Item added to your cart.

COIN COIN Chapter Four: Memphis
Matana Roberts
COIN COIN Chapter Four: Memphis
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 2019
Gift This Product

Across the first three ‘chapters’ of her sprawling Coin Coin series, reedswoman and bandleader Matana Roberts has singled herself out as an unstoppable force of elemental fury, and a visionary figure in contemporary American art, let alone jazz. Coin Coin Chapter Four: Memphis sees Roberts stitch another patch into her panoramic sound quilting, delving uncompromisingly deep into the horror of the US slave trade, keenly tracing its reverberations well into the present day.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Jewels Of The Sky: Inscription Matana Roberts 1:48 Buy
  2. 2 As Far As The Eye Can See Matana Roberts 4:03 Buy
  3. 3 Trail Of The Smiling Sphinx Matana Roberts 9:43 Buy
  4. 4 Piddling Matana Roberts 2:29 Buy
  5. 5 Shoes Of Gold Matana Roberts 3:07 Buy
  6. 6 Wild Fire Bare Matana Roberts 5:41 Buy
  7. 7 Fit To Be Tied Matana Roberts 2:41 Buy
  8. 8 Her Mighty Waters Run Matana Roberts 4:57 Buy
  9. 9 All Things Beautiful Matana Roberts 2:30 Buy
  10. 10 In The Fold Matana Roberts 3:16 Buy
  11. 11 Raise Yourself Up Matana Roberts 2:44 Buy
  12. 12 Backbone Once More Matana Roberts 0:51 Buy
  13. 13 How Bright They Shine Matana Roberts 2:50 Buy

Matana Roberts


Alternative and Indie


--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.