Item added to your basket.

Gift This Product

Instant download of the following tracks with all pre-orders:

  • 'The Haunted Victorian Pencil'
  • 'The Rhythm Of A Dividing Pair'

Full release delivered on release date: 01.11.19

Read More

After dropping a few LPs on Erased Tapes, A Winged Victory For The Sullen now debut on Ninja Tune with new album The Undivided Five. However, this change of surroundings does not signal any great stylistic shift in the project’s music - the duo of Dustin O’Halloran and Adam Wiltzie (Stars Of The Lid, The Dead Texan) continue to go deep on their widescreen contemporary classical sound here.

The Undivided Five is another record with grand ambitions from A Winged Victory For The Sullen. Indeed, so cinematic are these compositions you could join them up with much of the music they have previously written for film and television. From the swelling strings of opener ‘Our Lord Debussy’ to the intimate, spare piano chords on final track ‘Keep It Dark, Deutschland’, everything here is designed with the intention of stoking strong emotion in the listener.

O’Halloran and Wiltzie have clearly paid great attention to detail in both the composition and recording of The Undivided Five. The use of granular synthesis and time-stretched textures provides their compositions with yet more space, while that aforementioned piano is recorded with such depth that it fills out the track on its own. The influence of contemporaries Sigur Ros and Olafur Arnalds - both residents of Iceland, O’Halloran’s new home - remains as strong as ever in the pair’s aesthetic.

A Winged Victory For The Sullen offer intense drones, sweeping ambiences and tender classical compositions on their latest full-length The Undivided Five.

Read More

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Our Lord Debussy 9:52 A Winged Victory for the Sullen
  2. 2 Sullen Sonata 5:23 A Winged Victory for the Sullen
  3. 3 The Haunted Victorian Pencil 1:29 A Winged Victory for the Sullen Buy
  4. 4 The Slow Descent Has Begun 4:55 A Winged Victory for the Sullen
  5. 5 Aqualung, Motherfucker 5:19 A Winged Victory for the Sullen
  6. 6 A Minor Fifth Is Made Of Phantoms 4:59 A Winged Victory for the Sullen
  7. 7 Adios, Florida 6:29 A Winged Victory for the Sullen
  8. 8 The Rhythm Of A Dividing Pair 4:52 A Winged Victory for the Sullen Buy
  9. 9 Keep It Dark, Deutschland 2:35 A Winged Victory for the Sullen

A Winged Victory for the Sullen

Ninja Tune

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.