Item added to your basket.

Chain Tripping
Chain Tripping
DFA Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 2019
Gift This Product
Read More

YACHT (an acronym for “Young Americans Challenging High Technology”) is Claire L. Evans, Jona Bechtolt, and Rob Kieswetter. For Chain Tripping, the trio invented their own working method, at the intersection of DIY and high-tech: they used neural networks to break their patterns apart into infinite variations, which they re-assembled into new songs that they then learned, performed, and recorded live. Rather than rely on any single tool, they brought together several distinct AI processes to generate lyrics (Char-RNN), musical data (MusicVAE), raw audio (SampleRNN), and instrumentation (a “neural synthesizer” called the NSynth). They were inspired by the long history of generative composition, from William S. Burroughs’ cut-up writing method to David Bowie’s custom “Verbasizer” lyrics software from the ‘90s.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 (Downtown) Dancing Yacht 5:38 Buy
  2. 2 Hey Hey Yacht 3:43 Buy
  3. 3 SCATTERHEAD Yacht 3:12 Buy
  4. 4 Loud Light Yacht 3:19 Buy
  5. 5 Blue on Blue Yacht 3:34 Buy
  6. 6 DEATH Yacht 2:49 Buy
  7. 7 Sad Money Yacht 3:54 Buy
  8. 8 California Dali Yacht 3:52 Buy
  9. 9 Stick it to the Station Yacht 3:08 Buy
  10. 10 Little Instant Yacht 3:58 Buy


DFA Records

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.