Item added to your cart.

Gruff Rhys
Rough Trade
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 13, 2019

The new album from Gruff Rhys, ‘Pang!’ is a Welsh Language pop album with a couple of verses of Zulu and an English title. ‘Pang!’ developed unexpectedly over about 18 months. A solo album of songs by Gruff Rhys, produced & mixed by the South African electronic artist Mmusi, and will be released by Rough Trade Records on 13th September 2019

Recorded in Cardiff, Wales. It was mixed by the producer Muzi in Johannesburg, South Africa. Drums by Welsh-American psychedelic warlord Kliph Scurlock, brass by Gavin Fitzjohn and flute and percussion by the engineer Kris Jenkins. Beats, bass & ah’s by Muzi with Gruff on vocals and guitar.

Gruff explains “Pang! Is a Welsh language song with an English title. It started life as a folk reel and soon expanded into a ‘list’ song, listing various reasons for pangs; hunger, regret, twitter, pain, bad design etc. Using the English word pang in a Welsh language track may appear weird but I suppose it’s like using the French word ‘Magazine’ in an English song. In that it’s slightly pretentious but completely acceptable.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Pang! 2:47 Buy
  2. 2 Bae Bae Bae 4:11 Buy
  3. 3 Digidigol 3:04 Buy
  4. 4 Ara Deg (ddaw'r awen) 2:35 Buy

    Ara Deg (ddaw'r awen)

  5. 5 Eli Haul 2:36 Buy
  6. 6 Niwl o Anwiredd 3:49 Buy
  7. 7 Taranau Mai 3:35 Buy
  8. 8 Ôl Bys / Nodau Clust 3:55 Buy

    Ôl Bys / Nodau Clust

  9. 9 Annedd i'm Danedd 3:09 Buy

    Annedd i'm Danedd

Gruff Rhys

View More

Rough Trade

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences