Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Speech After The Removal Of The Larynx
Fantome Phonographique
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 23, 2019


Part historical curio, part strange sci-fi document, researcher Harm A. Drost set out to investigate the proliferation of artificial voice creation. His findings, completed in 1964, are here compiled in Speech After The Removal Of The Larynx. Re-released many years after the fact, the LP takes on the strange air of the avant-garde, as each track of electronically-assisted burps and in-mouth sounds are interspersed with Drost’s dead-pan observations.

  1. 1 Coloratura Soprano Singer Do Not Use 0:31
  2. 2 Man Without Larynx Do Not Use 0:24
  3. 3 Buccal Speech Do Not Use 0:32
  4. 4 Parabuccal Speech Do Not Use 2:00
  5. 5 Singing Voice Do Not Use 0:47

Track List

  1. Coloratura Soprano Singer (1:03)
  2. Man Without Larynx (0:49)
  3. Buccal Speech (1:04)
  4. Parabuccal Speech (3:39)
  5. Singing Voice (1:35)
  6. Glossopharngeal Speech (0:33)
  7. Frogsound (3:44)
  8. Esophageal Voice (0:33)
  9. Injection: Basic Sound Two Times (0:15)
  10. Basic Sound Of The Esophageal Voice (0:31)
  11. Basic Sound Of The Esophageal Voice, An Octave Lower (0:33)
  12. Esopheageal Voice By Telephone (2:16)
  13. Singing Voice With Larynxphone (2:17)
  14. Pipa Di Tichioni (1:45)
  15. Western Electric (1:26)


View More

Experimental and Noise

View More

Library and Field Recordings

View More

Vinyl Reissue

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences