Item added to your cart.

Sampa The Great
The Return
Ninja Tune
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 13, 2019


Zambian-born Australian Sampa the Great makes her full-length debut with The Return, a record as much about home as it is about being far from its comforts. As such, its a glowing opening statement that pulls from vintage hip-hop class, reaching its tendrils back to the ancient traditions of South Africa — all with words from a boisterous mind settling for nothing short of greatness. The first few bars of ‘Freedom’, and you could swear you were in Marvin Gaye’s urban sprawl, clipped and chopped up to cater the modern, Kendrick Lamar-listening ear. Sampa’s whip-smart skill is in aligning these vibes through her own prism of social consciousness.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Mwana Sampa The Great featuring Mwanje Tembo, Theresa Mutale Tembo and Sunburnt Soul Choir 4:27 Buy
  2. 2 Freedom Sampa The Great 4:06 Buy
  3. 3 Wake Up (Interlude) Sampa The Great 0:54 Buy

    Wake Up (Interlude)

  4. 4 Time?s Up Sampa The Great featuring Krown 2:33 Buy
  5. 5 Grass Is Greener Sampa The Great 3:32 Buy

    Grass Is Greener

  6. 6 Dare To Fly Sampa The Great featuring Ecca Vandal 4:23 Buy
  7. 7 Any Day Sampa The Great featuring Whosane 4:17 Buy
  8. 8 OMG Sampa The Great 2:34 Buy
  9. 9 Light It Up (Interlude) Sampa The Great 2:15 Buy

    Light It Up (Interlude)

  10. 10 Final Form Sampa The Great 3:36 Buy
Show All Tracks 19
  • The Return

Sampa The Great

Ninja Tune

View More

Hip Hop

View More

Experimental Pop and New Wave

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences