View Your Wish List


Item added to your basket.

Sunny Side Up
Various Artists
Sunny Side Up
Brownswood Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 2019
Gift This Product …
Read More

A heavy new compilation from Brownswood shines a light on the independent underground in Melbourne, where a close-knit collection of artists have taken cues from soul, jazz and club culture to carve out a fresh Melbournian sound. Featuring nine different groups, many of them sharing members and studios, the record surveys the musical contours of this bubbling scene, nodding to house, broken beat, samba, p-funk and soul.

Recorded over a week at The Grove, a fabled house-cum-studio in the North Melbourne suburb of Coburg, it’s home to the record’s engineer, Nick Herrera, and two members of Hiatus Kaiyote, the city’s breakout gangster-soul dons with whom many of the record’s personnel have collaborated. Silentjay was musical director, the Rhythm Section-affiliated multi-instrumentalist and producer (who’s played with Joey Bada$$ and Flying Lotus) marshalling together the album’s different players, many of them part of influential collectives 30/70 and Mandarin Dreams.

Nurtured in the city’s collaborative, close-knit confines, the scene has been bubbling up under the radar of Australian music institutions, in the garages and makeshift studios of Melbourne’s suburban sprawl. Sunny Side Up is a colourful portrait of the scene’s potential, exploring the story behind this flourishing period and shining light on some of its most compelling figures.

Read More

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

  1. 1 Banksia 6:30 Phil Stroud, Horatio Luna, Jack Doepel, Ziggy Zeitgeist, Matthew Hatch, Cameron Parkin, Jimmy Bowman, Alejandro 'Silentjay' Abapo
  2. 2 Pick Up / Galaxy 6:27 Dufresne, Jimmy Bowman, Alejandro 'Silentjay' Abapo, Samuel Kuzich, Yannick Rosette, Ike Ruckman, Chris Vizard, Matthew Lloyd, Elle Shimada, Luis Poblete
  3. 3 There Is No Time 6:24 Kuzich, Phil Stroud, Cameron Parkin, Jimmy Bowman, Alejandro 'Silentjay' Abapo, Samuel Kuzich, Ike Ruckman, Matthew Lloyd
  4. 4 Bleeding Hearts 6:29 Audrey Powne, Tim Curnick, Myka Wallace, James Bowers
  5. 5 Powers 2 (The People) 6:03 Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange, Ziggy Zeitgeist, Matt Hayes, Lewis Moody, Erica Tucceri
  6. 6 Nice to See You 3:41 Laneous, Nick Martyn, Donny Stewart
  7. 7 Eternal / Internal Peace 8:53 Silentjay, Jimmy Bowman, Alejandro 'Silentjay' Abapo, Luis Poblete, Perrin Moss, Simon Mavin, Paul Bender, Kumar Shome
  8. 8 The Wake-Up 7:33 Horatio Luna, Phil Stroud, Ikey
  9. 9 Orbit 6:58 Allysha Joy, Elle Shimada, Henry Hicks, Josh Kelly, Ha Na, Rara Zulu, Danika Smith, Abbey Howlett

Brownswood Recordings

View More Brownswood Recordings


View More Jazz
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.